We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit. Still great!”
Review of Prairie Moon

Prairie Moon
Ranked #14 of 281 Restaurants in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second visit. Still great!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Back in Evanston after a year, we found the food and service just as good as we remembered. The burgers are delicious. The desserts are huge! Nice atmosphere, close to cute shops.

Helpful?
Thank Fencin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    95
    24
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Took a drive along lakeshore from Chicago and ended up here at the Prairie Moon in Evanston. Since my son is all about beer and checking out the microbreweries and craft beer, this was a chosen stop. My son had the pork tenderloin Opelousas which was pork medallions with andouille sausage and potatoes - a nice try at Cajun here and very good. I had the chicken marsala with creamy potatoes and spinach which was also very good. For beers we had Revolution Octoberfest, Revolution Double Fist double IPA, 3 Floyds Dreadnaught double IPA, and Founders breakfast stout - all very good. This is a fairly large establishment and somewhat loud, but there is outdoor seating, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine77055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good meals for our large group.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a party of 10 eating on a Sunday night. We called ahead and our tables were all set up when we arrived. I think everyone order a different menu item and all diners were very happy with their meals. Service was excellent. We had 2 small children and they were very accommodating with special foods and preparation for them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMFSRTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Food and a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Four of us were here last night for dinner. The restaurant itself is fairly large with a nice area outside to eat. We had reservations for 630 and were taken to our table immediately. I'd say the restaurant was about 80% full.

I started with a glass of Prosecco which was filled to the top of a champagne flute, very nice portion. Thank you!

Two of us had the paintbrush soup which was good with just the smallest bit of a bite at the end. I had the Stinking Rose Combo; shrimp and a steak with chimichurri sauce. The portion was excellent and also came with some very good garlic mashed potatoes and steamed spinach. One of us had the white fish which was good, one had a chicken dish with polenta. This was like a stew of chicken with bits of polenta rather than a piece of chicken on a slice of polenta. The other guest had a chicken dish too which he said was fine. For dessert we all shared a large piece of the Texas sheet cake. This was ok, not amazing but could be Texas's version of gourmet cake.

All in all, an enjoyable experience. Our waiter was attentive even though he was not all that familiar with some of the questions we asked him.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“nice place - good food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

had dinner here - large and roomy - airy - parts open to outdoor dining - on the noisy side because of poor acoustics but food and service are very good - very varied menu - reasonably priced - good sized portions - ample enough to share between two diners - informal atmosphere - would return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Moon also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing