We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place for dinner”
Review of Jilly's Cafe

Jilly's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Jilly's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 279 Restaurants in Evanston
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place for dinner”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ate at Jilly's for the first time tonight (Sunday. Nov 18.2012 6pm) and had a great experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, atmosphere and food were great ! We will be going back and encourage you to give Jilly's a try as well. Recommend the beet salad, mussels and steak and frites.

Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not good for prvate conversation”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Tables too close together for private conversation. Food good, but not great. Service excellent. Over-priced. It seems very opular, though, so I could be an outlier.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Little French place hidden away for 25 years”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I dined at Jilly's Cafe on Green Bay Road in Evanston this past Saturday. I never knew it was there for the last 25 years. The place looks very small from the outside and it is just as small on the inside. As they say, good things come in small packages. We were shown to our table by the owner and immediately felt comfortable. Our server was a very nice young lady who knew her menu well and was very helpful with the wine list and the food. We ordered a nice bottle of Bordeaux and the smoked salmon appetizer. We then ordered the short ribs of beef. This is not something we would normally order, but we're glad we did based on her suggestion. It was fabulous and we enjoyed it very much. We also had a beautiful dessert although we were finishing off our second bottle of Bordeaux so I can't remember what it was. We definitely will be returning often as we really enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacole1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“always a treat”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

civilized, quiet, and very good food. it's like fine dining without the formality, although many of the older patrons wore jackets, etc.
we were able to be seated after taking a chance and walking in without a reservation. were treated like royalty.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
228 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Warm,Cozy & Inviting”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Intimate restaurant with prix and regular menus. Don't let tough parking hold you back. Perfect for romantic evening or celebrating. Reasonable mid range pricing for total quality gourment food. Try the mushroom risotto.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jilly's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jilly's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing