We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Reliable”

Lou Malnati's Pizzeria
Ranked #5 of 281 Restaurants in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nestled between the growing downtown Evanston district and illustrious Northwestern University, Lou's in Evanston is a favorite of students and residents alike. This location offers dine in, carryout, and delivery as well as catering services. In the warmer months, outdoor seating is available.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Old Reliable”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Since we've moved away from the area, we find that when we return for a visit we typically head directly to Lou's. As usual, both deep-dish and thin crust pizzas were excellent. Out of the many things we miss about Chicago, Malnotti's is definitely in the top 10!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    51
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found this restaurant random while visiting the town (by the way the lighthouse was closed for renovation). On Sunday for lunch, we were the first one coming but other people came after. The service was good. The bruschetta was delicious, and the pizza had a good taste. That's a good place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piece0fmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Chicago Deep Dish Pizza”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had the Malnati's special salad for starters and it was delicious. Then we had the deep dish pizza with sausage, mushrooms and onions on their buttercrust dough. It was the best pizza I have ever had. The flavor was to die for!! Great beers on tap to go with the yummy meal!!! You have just got to go and try one of their pizza. They also ship and provide frozen to go pizza.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChitowngirlfromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Chicago Style Pizza;No Draft Beer”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is part of a chain that is famous for its Chicago style, deep dish, pizza. Because it is in Evanston they have only bottled beer(so they say). One of our favorite pizzas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingdoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“worthwhile classic Chicago experience”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The pizza itself was quite good - well made, not too oily but not too dry. The staff was friendly, responsive, and busy - they seem to run a good operation there - no idle hands whatsoever. As you might expect, the pizza is very heavy. Don't go there if you want to eat light, and expect to be in an uneasy food coma afterwards.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HanaHou77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Malnati's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Lou Malnati's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing