We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and surrounding in Downtown Evanston”
Review of Dixie Kitchen & Bait Shop - CLOSED

Dixie Kitchen & Bait Shop
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and surrounding in Downtown Evanston”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We sat outside since it was pleasant-they have only four small tables in front of the restaurant. If you're lucky to get one, grab it - it's always pleasant to eat al fresco.
We had the sweet fried plantains & fried okra to start. The appetizer portions are large enough to share. The plantains were very good. I'm a fan of okra and these were good but tasted slightly bland.
For entrees we had the seafood cakes which is suppose to have crab, crayfish, and shrimp but it's hard to find all three because there was too much fillers and three seafood items were minced too small. I expected large identifiable chunks of each but didn't find any - I was disappointed.
We wanted so much to try the beignets but did not have room for them so we vow to come back for them.
Overall, it's pleasant with large portions but slightly lacking in the flavor arena - maybe because I wanted to get wowed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    51
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Breakfast”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a group of 7 for breakfast and everyone enjoyed themselves. Eggs, bacon, potatoes, grits, french toast were all done perfectly. Be adventuresome and order something unusual like jambalaya eggs. Good service too. Interesting decor!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twobuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice change for breakfast”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We went to Dixie Kitchen for Sunday breakfast and found it to be a very enjoyable change from the usual fare. Both my wife and I had one of the specials with poached eggs. These were served with cornbread, ham, grits, and interesting sauces. Would recommend it for a change of pace.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reliably good food at a good price”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We live in the neighborhood and eat here often. It's our standby before the movies or strolling through downtown Evanston. Waitstaff is always friendly, food is always good and delivered promptly (important if you're pressed for time), and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayco23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I first discovered Dixie Kitchen during a 9-day visit back home. It was a wonderful treat after living abroad. The food is packed with flavor and the fried okra is amazing. Sometimes there's a wait, but it's worth it! Great spot for brunch!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Kitchen & Bait Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing