We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone - or many things for everyone!”
Review of Tapas Barcelona

Tapas Barcelona
Ranked #1 of 281 Restaurants in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Evanston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Something for everyone - or many things for everyone!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A family favorite. The portions are a great size. Big enough for splitting, but small enough that you can order a variety. In the warm weather they have great outdoor seating.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    110
    37
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Flavors”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Wow talk about a wonder mouthful. I had 8 dishes and 5 of them where purely unreal. The other where excellent. I cannot wait to get back there!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Il
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Too Many Good Choices!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Tapas Barcelona is one of our regular neighborhood places. The atmosphere is great and the outdoor patio is a treat in pleasant weather (which the Chicago area has actually had some of this year!). The menu has a wide variety of hot and cold tapas, each served in a quantity that can provide three or four people a good taste (or two people a pretty large taste). Additional items appear on a regularly changing specials menu. I don't think we have ever had a bad tapa at TB, and the real challenge is making choices. We have a couple of favorites (like the bacon wrapped dates) that we ALWAYS have, and the challenge is picking what to go around it. As a result, while TB is fine for a couple, it's more fun to go as two couples, so you can order more choices. I would personally forego the larger dishes and salads and focus on the tapas. We have always found the service pleasant and attentive. The arrival order and timing of the tapas can be a little whimsical since everything is prepared to order, but we find that to be part of the charm of tapas. One of these days, we will just close our eyes and point at arbitrary menu items to see what we get. We're pretty confident it will be good. Satisfactory collection of wines by the glass and bottle. Oh, if you don't want to wait for a table, come early.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Tapas could be better”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Looked forward to a fun dinner, but the food was not exceptional.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great tapas but takes a while”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have eaten at Tapas Barcelona many, many times, as their food is excellent. But when you put your order in, they make it right then, so you may have to wait a bit to get your food. So if you're in a big hurry, try somewhere else. What's great is you can have 3-4 different plates and so can whoever you're with, so you get to taste a bit of everything. In the warm months, they have outside seating under umbrellas and it's very nice. Not terribly quiet, though, as they are on a busy street.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank HeidiWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Barcelona also viewed

 

Been to Tapas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing