We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Thai”
Review of Thai Sookdee Restaurant - CLOSED

Thai Sookdee Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite Thai”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I don't live here anymore, but I try to eat here whenever I visit. The food is well spiced, priced and perfectly portioned. Additionally, it absolutely delicious.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JTE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy food at reasonable price”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I usually park in front of this restaurant when we go to the theatre around the corner. Today is the first time we gave it a try. The restaurant is a lot larger than we thought. We had the Som Tom Papaya (Papaya salad) with sticky rice and it was delicious. We both felt like having the Pad Kee Mao (spicy wide noodle with basil) so my husband ordered tofu and I had the chicken. It turned out to be one of the best Pad Kee Mao we had and we have had many in and around Chicago. The Thai Custard dessert was okay. We had better elsewhere.

The restaurant looked a little tired and service can be better. Overall, the food was very good and price was really reasonable. We would definitely go back for sure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Thai I Have had in a while”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Awesome meal. Have eaten at all the Thai restaurants in Evanston area and this is the best. We had two excellent noodle dishes (Pad Thai and Pad Thai Woon Sen with glass noodles). The Red Curry Roast Duck was an excellent choice as well as a dish I never had, a pork belly and pork shoulder combo that is a Northern Thai dish that had excellent flavor and spice, Gaeng Hung Lay, something I never had before and enjoyed immensely. Very nice environment and a beautiful descriptive menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Atmosphere & Taste”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place has an area with wonderful seats with cushions & a cut out area under the table for your feet kind of reminiscent of some traditional Japanese restaurants. The menu is huge with great choices, some popular Thai dishes, some less so. The food is consistently good & reasonable. There are many curries choices & I have enjoyed almost all of them. My one daughter loves the panang... The Pad woon sen is one of our favorites too. Try ordering many dishes and sharing it family style for full enjoyment!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Justsaygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best. Take-out. Ever.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The pad Thai is amazing here. Everything we have tried has been great. They are so nice and it's very fast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Astilbe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Sookdee Restaurant also viewed

 
Evanston, IL
Evanston, IL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing