We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence plus!”
Review of Oceanique

Oceanique
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceanique is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 279 Restaurants in Evanston
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hinman & Chicago
Transit: CTA - Purple Line - Main St. Metra - Union Pacific / North Line - Main St.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
131 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellence plus!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was dinner on Mother's Day and we expected to be rushed but this was not the case. The restaurant was active but not overly crowded. We were greeted promptly and seated immediately. Our table captain, I hesitate to call him our server because everyone works as a team in serving and tending to your needs, was appropriately friendly, knowledgable and very attentive. The food was superbly prepared and served in a timely manner. We enjoyed our entrees and even had some of their very wonderful desserts to celebrate Mother's Day. Portions are just right. And their coffee is so good ... rich in flavor and taste. We were able to stay as long as we wished and enjoyed an unhurried delightful dining experience. And one more little but oh so neat thing ... they iron the table cloths! Yes, we will go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    19
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is not a fish tale”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The restaurant is not big so make a reservation. On a Tuesday night all the tables were full. Everyone was extremely pleasant. The service was gracious thoughtful and efficient, but not overpowering. The food was exquisite. The food is something to rave about. It was beautifully presented and delicious. Tuna tartare was very pleasing though small. Lobster salad was delicious. The skate was done perfectly and was filleted. Even the kids enjoyed it. Dessert was so beautiful that we felt like vandals when we cut into it. The restaurant is definitely an experience. The bill with one drink each and an inexpensive bottle of wine came to $500. This is certainly not inexpensive but considering the quality, we felt that it was a good value. We were able to take the opportunity of a discount coupon and enjoy this splendid place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMILTON
Level Contributor
125 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tasting Menu Experience”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our first visit to Oceanique so we decided to try the tasting menu. My favourite dishes to order are fish/seafood so I was in heaven. Each dish was prepared in an unexpected and original way and each was better than the one before.

For our first courses our daughter had the foie gras and my husband and I had the lobster which turned out to be a lobster salad. Everyone was happy with their choice.

For my main I had Tuna as did my husband; our daughter had salmon. None of us were disappointed. I should mention that the wait staff were excellent..never intrusive but always there when needed. We were told that the Chef's choice choice was to cook both salmon and tuna rare which was more than fine for us. I also appreciated that they accommodated me with a gluten free dessert. Sadly this restaurant will be reserved for very special occasions as it is on the pricy side.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent special occasion place”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The seafood here really is delicious. We come here occasionally for a special treat and are never disappointed. Always many choices for fish and the wine menu is extensive. Helpful and knowledgeable staff.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great night, Great food!! Highly recommend the Chef's Menu with the wine flight!! Couldn't ask for much better!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBGBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanique also viewed

 

Been to Oceanique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing