We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't stop thinking about the food!”
Review of Terra American Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Terra American Bistro
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Livingston
Park Ridge, IL
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Can't stop thinking about the food!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our first visit here got off to a rocky start as we were seated 25 minutes after our reservation on a Saturday night. Our server was attentive and friendly. The bacon wrapped dates were the best dates I have ever eaten (but very rich). One serving was enough for our party. As a main course, I had portabello stuffed with vegetables and goat cheese--a vegetarian offering. As good as it was, I couldn't finish it. My mouth is watering as I write this thinking about enjoying my leftovers tonight at home. It was that delicious. Then I enjoyed a banana dessert which was reminiscent of bananas foster. Again, thoughts of it make my mouth water. Although I am not a wine drinker, the connoisseurs at the table were well pleased with the wine selection. Even the flatbread served at the table was tasty. Had it not been for the delayed seating, I would probably have given 5 stars. The parking lot is sort of awkwardly small with valet parking. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, a little noisy”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Dinner at Terra. Very friendly people. Food was very good. I had a ceaser salad that was just very fresh tasting. My wife had some of the best cooked foie gras ever. Server was very helpful but a little chatty. Prices were great for the quality. The place got a bit loud as it filled. But this was our second visit and we will definitely be back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudge828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere but got sick”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Terra seems a nice addition to the many options in the area, but I got violently ill after eating there in late February. My companion and I shared a tasty scallop appetizer (he did not get sick), then I had the grilled calamari. It tasted odd, which I mentioned at the time to my companion, but since I was not familiar with the preparation, I did not send it back (although i didn't finish it).
Once I'd recovered a few days later, I called the restaurant to let them know I'd been very sick and listed what I'd eaten. The manager expressed some sympathy but said no one else had reported illness. There was no other follow up, which was an unfortunate error on the part of the management.
The atmosphere is nice, and the menu has some interesting options. I probably won't return, though, as the management missed an opportunity to make a potential 'regular' content.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank drsh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Terra was wonderful. From the flat bread to dessert, the food was excellent. The menu was extensive and had everything from fish to meat. The service was great, and the alchoholic drinks were plentiful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wait, wait, wait”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

had a reservation for 8:30. we were told that it would be a few munutes, so we headed to the bar. 40 minutes later we were seated.
manager and waitress were very apologetic and we understood that you can't ask people to leave.
food was very good and staples like meatloaf have sides and sauces that change with the season.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terra American Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing