We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great "Space" !”
Review of Space

Space
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“great "Space" !”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

good venue for music with intimate feel and great names, unusual - and I have not got 50 characters left to say more

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    18
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ear, ear!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Nice, intimate place to see a show. Nothing fancy, but acoustically excellent. There's a bar with reasonably high drink prices but good service.
We were there during a standing-room only show and even though it was sold out, it wasn't all fannies to elbows. There was room to breath and enjoy.

Yeah, I'd return -- happily even.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dougdaeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of my favorite music venues!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I love this little intimate venue. I've traveled several times from Michigan to see an artist I like here and it's always worth the trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great venue for an intimate way to hear music”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went to Space to see Alejandro Escovedo on New Year's Eve. Everything about the show was great. This is an intimate setting (seats about 250?) with pretty good acoustics. There is no bad seat in the house. Most are seated at small round tables which hold your drink and not much else. Some are seated in individual chairs around the perimeter of the room. The show itself was great, with Alejandro backed up by a great violinist and several other musicians. He performed several really good covers of Lou Reed songs in tribute. We ate at the attached Union Pizzeria, which has a good casual atmosphere with better-than-average small plates and flatbread pizza. This made seeing the show a stress-free night despite the horribly snowy evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, MI
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Space Jammin with Jambon”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Been to the Space twice to see Jambon. This is a great small venue to see live performances in a smaller, intimate setting. The restaurant in front is quite nice, too, couches, cozy, and comfortable. We only had time for a few drinks from the bar and ordered several pizzas to take into the Space (that's the only food item you can bring in), but there muscles looked amazing! Next visit we will go early enough to have a relaxing meal before the show.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lszuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Space also viewed

 

Been to Space? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing