We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent choice for exploring Chicago”
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Chicago IL
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay that had parking and was near bus and rail so we could explore Chicago. I was very happy with this choice for what we wanted to do. It is near the 151 and 147 bus lines. We took the 147 because it had several stops and then went express along the lake, and then went back to Michigan Ave. The train (red line) was 2 blocks north and 2 blocks west to get on/off. The tickets you buy to ride the train just ask at the "desk" and they will provide you with a map and directions to the place to buy the visitor explorer bus/rail passes.

Parking, there was plenty, both under the hotel and outside the hotel. They say that they do not guarantee a parking spot but there is a lot of parking.

Room was dated but the beds were really good. I thought the rooms very soundproof and solid. We did not hear outside noise except for the very loud emergency vehicles. We did not hear talking or banging of doors as we have hear other hotels. The matresses were very soft and comfortable.

Cost was decent value. Breakfast nothing special. I would stay here again since we choose our hotels on value

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank debkr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 434 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

I was nervous staying here after reading some of the reviews. We needed an inexpensive hotel for one night for the Loyola Weekend. I was pleasantly surprised. It isn't a 5 star hotel, but the room was super clean. A plus was the microwave, fridge and coffee maker. We had a 2nd floor room facing the street. No beach/water view at this hotel. Buildings across the street in the way. It was a non-smoking floor. We didn't notice any strange oders. I will say that after parking in the garage two times, I chose to park out front the remainder of the time we were here. The parking was way too tight for my crossover vechile. Having a complimentary light breakfast was also a huge plus with the kids. They went down several times for bagels, cereal, danishes, etc..... and brought it back to the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerTod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Our room was okay but dated. The walls were SO thin that we could hear everything in the nearby rooms and hallway---there must have been some kind of reunion because there were a lot of people next door. I went down to ask if they could quiet them down if the noise persisted after 9 p.m. since we were really tired from our trip, and the young gentleman was very helpful. I liked the location and loved the parking on site. But... my daughter found a bed bug crawling among the sheets in the morning. We actually captured it in a cup and took it down to the front desk. The gentleman at the front desk didn't seem too concerned. I contacted Super 8's corporate and, once again, nothing. No apology from anyone. We had to find plastic bags in order to wrap our suitcases as we didn't want bedbugs in the car. And you certainly don't want to bring them in your home so we had to leave all our belongings outside. Then we gradually had to wash everything and stick it in the dryer for lengthy period (heat will kill them); we put bulky items in the freezer for 4 days. I thought it very poor customer service with the lack of any response from anyone, and I must admit I was irritated with the amount of extra work I had to go through as a precaution to keep them out of my house. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here in October 2011 and still feel compelled to write a review. I moved to Chicago for a job and stayed at this hotel until I found an apartment. The room itself was cleaner and more comfortable than I expected, but the service really put it over the top. The employees were incredibly helpful with everything... restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. I was told that the cars in the parking lot were watched all night on camera. I felt very safe and cared for. Makes me think I expect too little of other Super 8's I've been to!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cera W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Right down the street from Loyola, this is a great place if you are visiting the campus. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds on the second floor facing N. Sheridan and had no problem with sound or light getting thru the curtain. Small fridge and microwave are nice, and the breakfast is good enough with juice, coffee, oatmeal and pastries. Nothing fancy but it kept the kids happy. The room was clean and the temperature was good. Only small complaint that the hot water was not really hot, no matter what time of day, and the mirror in the bathroom was a little too high for the shorter members of the family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmervis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and I visited Chicago during May 2011 and our stay in the Super 8 was great. The staff was very helpful and the parking was free, which is saying something considering Chicago. I recommend this Super 8 for a stay on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artistic_elwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is not a luxury property, but we were impressed that it was clean and looked to have an franchisee that cared about providing a decent, basic stay. Parking is tight - but is also free and even though we have a minivan we were able to get a space each night.
Our room was spacious and clean: great king size bed (pillows aren't great!), good iron and ironing board and decent TV and free WiFi. We were in 304 - only a view of back roof and apartments; opposite rooms probably look toward the lake - which is only a block away.
Being located on Sheridan, there are lots of restaurants, Starbucks, etc., heading south toward town, and the access to both Evanston (north) and Lake Shore Drive (to go to the city) is great! If you need a place near the universities or Rogers Park, and don't require high-rise luxury, try it out.

Room Tip: Try to face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeyon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
Rogers Park
Hampton Inn Chicago North - Loyola Station
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#105 of 192 in Chicago
5,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,257 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,134 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Chicago IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chicago IL

Address: 7300 N Sheridan Rd, Evanston, IL 60626-2216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range: $87 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chicago IL 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Chicago IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Chicago / Loyola University Hotel Evanston
Super Eight Chicago
Chicago Super 8
Chicago Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing