We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really love this place!”
Review of Prairie Joe's

Prairie Joe's
Ranked #129 of 283 Restaurants in Evanston
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I really love this place!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We lived in Evanston for several years and always enjoyed this "local" place. It's fun and whimsical with great food and service. The menu features great American diner fare as well as some Mexican specialties. Every time we come back to Evanston we stop in for breakfast. My favourite is the southwest burrito. It's awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelToLiveYes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local Eatery with creative specials”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love going to Prairie Joe's. I have never ordered off their regular menu. I love the off-beat specials and have never gotten one I disliked. The owner has decorated with his own off-beat artwork and found items. Go just to sit and look around! My kids love his milkshakes. He also has Jarritos ( a Mexican soda) you may want to try the tamarind flavor for something new.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyM923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, lots of fun”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If there is a grillette on the breakfast menu, order it. Otherwise, there are plenty of unique dishes, changing every day, with generous portions at modest prices. But this place is about more than just the food: it's also about the environment -- paintings (by the owner), retro lamps and radios, the empty tv, the shark, the book shelves, the toys, the witty remarks in the menu, and the hard-working folks who bring you your food. It's kid-friendly, adult-friendly, sui generis.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilGalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
1,064 reviews
841 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 932 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a Pregame Lunch”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were seated immediately a couple hours before a football game at Ryan Field. It's a quirky little neighborhood dive with good food. Burgers, malts, Greek BLT with Greek fries, and chiken/hummus/pita were all very good. Server was very nice, but kitchen was overwhelmed with the game day business and the food was very slow to arrive. Overall enjoyed it and would definitely return.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An Eclectic Haven!”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We visited friends in Evanston in September of 2011. This is a real neighborhood place on one of Evanston's main streets. The owner, an artist, has decorated the spaces with an amazing collection of his own paintings (for sale on the sidewalk too), found objects, books, and assemblages (the Christmas-decorated shark was my personal favorite).

The food is equally eclectic with an intriguing mix of American diner favorites, Mexican, and Lebanese, with specials hand-written daily on carbon-paper slips attached to the menu.

Service was speedy and friendly. This place is now a must for our trips to Evanston.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lietuva_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing