We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Inn - Located in Heart of Evanston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Garden Inn - Located in Heart of Evanston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Great location. Rooms very nice. Close to resturants and shopping. Staff helpful. In hotel resturant with convenience shopping in hotel if desired. Business meeting rooms available. Fee to self-park in covered garage next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    231
    78
    27
    10
See reviews for
229
104
38
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room for one night recently when we were coming in for the Loyola Univ Chicago Commencement. The Hilton Garden Inn was about a 20 min drive from Loyola. We arrived for check-in at 4:00 pm and were given keys to our room while my husband went to self-park our car in a city parking garage next to the hotel. It seemed silly to use the hotel's expensive valet parking with the self-park garage literally right next door. My daughter and I gathered our suitcases & went up to our room. When we got there, it looked as though the housekeeping staff was just beginning to clean it. I asked her how much longer it would be and she couldn't understand my question so we picked up our bags and returned to the front desk. The clerk was very apologetic to us and complained to another desk clerk about how this situation was unacceptable. Another room was found for us and after the clerk apologized to us again, she gave us 2 free "made to order" breakfast coupons to use the following morning. Our room was fine and a complimentary breakfast the next morning (normally $12.95 per person plus tax and gratuity) was good. We would return to this property if ever in the Evanston area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeTj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

A pending charge was put on our card as soon as we checked in. In addition to our room rate, they added $200 for "incidentals." The only reason we found out about this is because our credit card company alerted us. The staff made no mention of it whatsoever. They informed me at checkout that the rate would be adjusted to the true balance, although it took them several days to do it. I have never had a hotel do such a thing. What kinds of "incidentals" cost $200?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Norma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Liked this hotel alot in the past but the staff has become indifferent in their welcoming and treatment. No warmth or caring. Also there is little linkage with value. Its overpriced by at least $50/60. You do not feel like you are reciving a good experience for the price. Easier to stay downtown w/ better treatment

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Quality First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel times in the last year when I attended Evanston Illinois...It has been a very good experience each time. I was treated very well and I had everything I needed to complete my courses while I was there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I travel several times per year to Evanston for business. I have tried all of the hotels in Evanston and strongly prefer the Garden Inn. The rooms are of good size for a city hotel, the location is convenient and parking is handy. I generally arrive late, leave early so I don't take advantage of much they have to offer. Location is in the Evanston downtown. Evanston is expensive, so the prices reflect that. If you want cheap, stay in Skokie but don't expect to walk to downtown Evanston. Evanston is on the train line, so expect to hear it when operating. I don't generally eat at the hotel because there are so many great places a short walk away. Breakfast is not complementary. Internet is not blazing and VPN had some issues. That said, it is the best internet I've experienced in Evanston hotels - admittedly a moving target. Staff is always pleasant. Lobby is comfortable if you're meeting someone for discussion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

My family and I recently visited fabulous Northwestern University! We had an amazing experience in Evanston, IL and the Hilton Garden Inn was a great place to stay! Very convenient with a wonderful breakfast! The front desk staff were SO helpful to me and my family!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank sandra46641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Address: 1818 Maple Ave., Evanston, IL 60201-3136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston hotel - a welcoming Chicago North Shore hotel. Adjacent to Northwestern University and minutes from multiple large corporations, our comfortable Evanston hotel is the perfect choice for students, families and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Evanston Hotel Evanston
Evanston Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing