We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HGI in Evanston very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“HGI in Evanston very good”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Helpful staff, nice, clean room. I loved my stay there and will stay again. Parking is expensive. They charge for breakfast. The breakfast, however, is great. Full omelette bar, etc. The wine at the bar is expensive and not high quality. However, there is a World Market across the street that carries wine. The staff was friendly and helpful. The gym has free weights... rare in my hotel travels. A little pricey, but a very nice place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    235
    80
    28
    10
See reviews for
238
107
38
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel on multiple occasions in the past year to visit my daughter who attends Northwestern. The location and staff are great! I'm sure there will be more stays here in the next few years.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is my favourite hotel to stay in Evanston (and probably in the US) and would recommend it to anyone staying in the area. The hotel is very clean, and it has great service and great amenities. Also very central Evanston location near restaurants, a movie theater and transportation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The staff was so friendly and attentive. They asked what brought me to town when I checked in, and I mentioned that I had an interview. The next morning they wished me good luck on my interview. It was so nice to have that extra support. That personal touch made my visit more than good, it made it great. On top of that, the hotel was nice, the rooms were very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable! It was a tad on the expensive side, particularly considering there wasn't even a complimentary continental breakfast, but in all it was a good value!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Caryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ynotbloom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed a week here for a Northwest University professional class along with a colleague. The first thing we got when we walked through the door Sunday night at about 9:45 was a big smile and "Welcome Gentlemen" from the front desk. That was just the start.

Staff from management to housekeeping were professional, yet when engaged in conversation they were exceptionally friendly. Very efficient, yet personable. Helpful beyond belief, and more than patient with several (in my opinion) very spoiled or unduly demanding customers we watched.

The only thing more relaxing, clean and inviting than their public spaces was the room! IMMACULATE. My family has allergies and so I inspect every room closely: bath, behind furniture, the heat/ac filters. You could have eaten of the bathroom surfaces, behind stuff was TOTALLY dust free, The filters looked like they were just installed from the manufacturer! That is better than even 4-stars I have stayed at.

Beds are variable air beds that do not feel like air beds. Good sleep, despite being away from home and missing my personal mattress - and doing big time stress over our classes every night. I use a CPAP and had no problems. When I asked them to stow it for me on Friday until my class ended at 2pm, it was delivered to my van out front with a big "FRAGILE - HANDLE WITH GREAT CARE" note on it (as my fellow C-People will tell you - that is gold for service!)!

Food here is great and well priced. Breakfast is a superb deal. A wide variety of basic cold stuff, with a staffed hot option bar. Made to order omelettes, waffles, pancakes; sausage patties and bacon with fresh baked muffins; potato options that rotate each day (tots, hash browns, patties). And of course your OJ, Milk, Water, Coffee (did not ask for any juice other than orange, so unk if they have any other).

Cookies and bars often available in the late afternoon/evening in the front lobby.

Speaking of 4-Star.....why not? If this is only a 3-star location, then they are setting the bar and setting it high. This place is a 3.5 at least if not striking into a 4 star place. Okay - fine: a 3-star with a 4-star service and comfort level!

Small but efficient excersize room. Earphones for the tv's are available at the desk if you forget yours. My colleague loved the spa and pool.

Conveniently located directly across the street from the NU-Center for Public Safety building, and within walking distance of more restaurants and shops than we could even consider visiting. The Evanston Loop CTA Bus runs right here, and both Metra and CTA trains are just minutes away on foot. Bar fly? Several options close by. Not so (like us)? MULTIPLE night out options. Very safe neighborhood. Took several late night walks with no trouble or concerns.

The only nick I can send this place is the elevators. Apparently are some of Otis' original type hydraulics equipment. Nice and smooth delivery to your destination, but if in a hurry - you can feel like you are loosing a birthday in those booths!

My company sent me here, but I am sure I and my family will be back for the fun of it!

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have a bit less noise from the nearby passing CTA / METRA trains (which in themse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ynotbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Friendly staff, great location in Evanston. Ease of parking. Good security. Breakfast offerings are wide variety and good quality. The rooms are a little small as are the beds. Instead of two doubles in a room, two queen beds would be much more preferable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
322 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stay at this HGI whenever I am in Evanston for Rotary business. While I don't have a choice about my lodging, I am always glad that this is the place. I love having a microwave and fridge in my room; I adore free Internet. Then give me a comfortable bed and I am a happy camper.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.5 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#6 of 8 in Evanston
208 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Address: 1818 Maple Ave., Evanston, IL 60201-3136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston hotel - a welcoming Chicago North Shore hotel. Adjacent to Northwestern University and minutes from multiple large corporations, our comfortable Evanston hotel is the perfect choice for students, families and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Evanston Hotel Evanston
Evanston Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing