We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable except...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very comfortable except...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a great choice of hotel for a quick trip to Evanston. It seems to have been fairly recently updated. The room was large, clean and nicely appointed. The location is excellent and there are lots of places (stores, restaurants, etc) within walking distance. Also a very easy drive to most places. The staff was very accommodating and they had a nice breakfast on premises. The only problem for us was that the air conditioning in the room was extremely loud, to the point of keeping me up most of the night. If we turned it off, the room got too stuffy and uncomfortable. I don't think this was an issue with just our room, but rather with the type of units they use. We were only there for one night, so did not try changing rooms. Might not bother everyone as much, but something to be aware of.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    226
    78
    27
    10
See reviews for
225
102
38
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great very helpful staff, excellent breakfast, nice clean room. Found other guests as well as staff very friendly. Room and common areas very comfortable. Lovely town/area. Surprised by lack of darkening curtains so for me it was hard to sleep much past sunrise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel saved my weekend since I was staying at another local hotel and having a horrible experience. They were able to give me a room with basically no notice at all. Lobby is very clean and upscale looking. Room was clean, beds very comfortable, shower very nice, Wifi worked fine. Parking is a little pricey and not that convenient - you have to walk outside to go to and from hotel. No street parking there. Staff was friendly but a little clueless and not terrible friendly. Could probably use some customer service help there. But all in all, it was an excellent hotel and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. There is a nice breakfast buffet in the lobby - I didn't try it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calace90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevelnd, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel was very clean, the rooms were comfortable, the lobby was very welcoming. The complimentary items in the lobby were very nice. We had no idea of the cost range for meals, but didn't eat at the hotel. Staff was very accommodating. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the HG Evanston for a long weekend. Tied it in with the Evanston merchant sidewalk sale. Also went to the Saturday Evanston farmer's market. Twenty steps out the hotel's back door. Great stay, hotel staff is very attentive and professional.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Just depends if you want to see the sun rise or set
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is modern nice and clean.. Although I was expecting tiny little bit more of friendliness from the staff, my stay here was awesome. I recommend this place to other people who has work to do in Evanston.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ali O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

After staying at the Hilton Garden Inn, I am in love with the town of Evanston. The hotel is walking distance to Northwestern University, shopping, restaurants, trains, and more. The neighborhood felt safe and friendly. The hotel itself was clean, the staff was friendly, and the room was spacious.

Room Tip: My room on the 5th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charsky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.5 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
0.3 mi away
Margarita European Inn
Margarita European Inn
#4 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
0.5 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Address: 1818 Maple Ave., Evanston, IL 60201-3136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston hotel - a welcoming Chicago North Shore hotel. Adjacent to Northwestern University and minutes from multiple large corporations, our comfortable Evanston hotel is the perfect choice for students, families and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Evanston Hotel Evanston
Evanston Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing