We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Cubs Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Chicago Cubs Stay”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our next stop was Chicago for 2 days and I felt we needed to stay away from downtown Chicago and use the train system to get around.
It worked out well for us and we were able to see Lake Michigan in the morning with our coffee and tea.
The Hilton Garden was a nice hotel but I was hoping not to get a view of a parking lot but we did get a corner room. No walking in together here. The closet door could not be fully opened when you opened the bathroom door. Since we were traveling for many days, each morning I would reorganize our bag to make sure no dirty cloths were placed in it by mistake. Being hit by the door and not having enough light at the closet was an issue for me.
The room was a nice size and clean. We could hear the people in the next room which could have been an issue if we did not bring our fan.
The price was good for us and much better then in downtown.
We liked the pool but I felt the whirlpool/spa did not message enough for my tired legs. The maintenance man changed the filter while we were in the whirlpool and he said it would be better; we did not notice a change.
We did not stay for breakfast; Starbucks was in walking distance on the way to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytotravel127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    243
    82
    28
    11
See reviews for
244
111
39
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. Clean, great staff, cheap parking on site. Room was fairly priced. 1 block walk from the train. Great more suburban area of Chicago. had intended to spend all of our nights taking the train back and forth to downtown however Evanston was great in its own. We will definitely be going back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jaime4404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

5-star hotels have their pluses but, for me, nothing beats a hotel room complete with refrigerator, microwave oven AND free Internet access. You can count on these amenities at any Hilton Garden Inn. This staff is super accommodating. The van is available to take you to your local destination -- meeting, restaurant or shopping and it will come back to get you. The desk chair is ergonomic and great for long sittings in front of the computer. There is even a laundry room, and a cookie in the afternoon..

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed over a football weekend for Northwestern, so I expected to get boofed. I did. Rooms were decent sized, but pricey about $270 each with taxes. Rooms were clean and large. Overall property was well-maintained. I had two issues with the place. First, the air conditioning unit didn't work well. It was hot in the room, no matter the setting. Second, at 4 a.m., there was a door slamming contest on our floor. I don't know who won, but it wasn't me. Wife told me she woke up to some screeching girls at 2 a.m. Not a particularly restful night. Kids said the breakfast was great though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefsTigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I’m so sorry you experienced some problems with your air conditioning unit during your stay. Our maintenance staff works diligently to keep them in excellent condition and we are sorry to hear you didn’t experience that. I would also like to apologize for the level of noise that you experienced as a result of the slamming of the doors on your floor. We will look into these issues and make sure that they are not repeated. Please consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. We’d love to make your stay with us the best hotel experience you’ve ever had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purchase, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

At the $143 a night we paid this was the best deal we have had in the area. The room was spacious and could have accommodated two king beds instead of the two doubles. It was clean and the furniture was spotless - no nicks, no smears....
Location is good- you are one block west of the main action.
As a Gold member, we were comped to the breakfast buffet. The egg chef is very good and the omelettes were restaurant quality.
The pool is small, but I had it to myself so no complaints.
Parking is a little vague but the hotel was able to give me a pass so I could park the truck I was driving (for a Northwestern move) on the street.
After this, I see no reason to pay more for the Hilton Orrington which except for the amenities (soap, shampoo etc.) offers no advantage IMHO.

Room Tip: Our room, with a number ending in 27 was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz_and_cocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed over the Labor Day weekend. Easy location, very friendly staff and comfortable room. The King bedroom had plenty of space for us both to get ready for the day without being in each other's way. Comfortable bed, although I'm not a fan of the small square pillows. Parking fee is comparable to any other hotel in town. The Evanston farmers market was right behind the hotel on Saturday morning and was just amazing. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a few months ago; a block north off the train line and easily located. Great breakfast in the mornings!! Room was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom needed a little touch up: drywall tape showing through and mirror frame had a piece missing. Very comfortable bed and room very spacious. When in the area again will stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iam4pacers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.3 mi away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.5 mi away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 8 in Evanston
214 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Address: 1818 Maple Ave., Evanston, IL 60201-3136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston hotel - a welcoming Chicago North Shore hotel. Adjacent to Northwestern University and minutes from multiple large corporations, our comfortable Evanston hotel is the perfect choice for students, families and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Evanston Hotel Evanston
Evanston Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing