We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GinniDesMoines
Des Moines, Iowa

Favorite spot close to Chicago

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 17, 2017via mobile
Love this hotel & the location is great. Newly remodeled room & very comfortable. Spacious bath, comfortable beds, and Front Desk couldn't be any better. They recommended a great restaurant & assisted in parking arrangements & transportation to event. Love this spot & will stay here again.
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
$152
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    $140
  • Vio.com
0.3 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Pool
Downtown Evanston jewel, near Northwestern University and the Lake
$136
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
    $119
  • HolidayInn.com
    $136
0.3 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $198
  • Official Site
    $220
0.5 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    $201
  • Expedia.com
    $229
0.4 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hilton
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Welcome the GEM Museum Suites.
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.0 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Room service
Booker's Abode
    0.6 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
    $135
    • Priceline
      $135
    • Skyscanner.com
      $133
    • Vio.com
      $136
    3.7 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $146
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Residence Inn
      $146
    3.8 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    $128
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    3.8 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Evanston
    Reviews (199)
    Filter reviews
    199 results
    Traveler rating
    104
    60
    18
    6
    11
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    104
    60
    18
    6
    11
    See what travelers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    84 - 89 of 199 reviews
    Reviewed March 5, 2017

    Lovely quaint old historic hotel. Rooms are comfy and clean. Very European. It's not your normal chain hotel. Staff is very friendly. Continental breakfast was sufficient but could use a little more variety. Parking is optional at $10 per night. Would have given 5 stars but.......there is additional $5 per day "hotel service fee" that you don't know about until you get your bill. We checked out at 5:30AM. When I got the bill I noticed they had charged us double the parking but did not notice the hidden "hotel service fee". The gal at the desk said she couldn't help with the wrong parking fee but would have somebody take care of it. They did. After getting home I noticed the "hotel service fee" and called and inquired about it. I was told it was "a hotel service fee". No explanation...no reason...nothing. I would prefer they include the "hotel service fee" in the nightly rate so you know ahead what you are paying. I would recommend the hotel but be aware it will cost a bit more than you think.

    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank dnbleavenworth
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed February 12, 2017

    The staff here was so helpful from the time I reserved until I left. The hotel is charming, very comfortable, everything I needed for my stay. It is a historical building,but the rooms and bath are updated and very nice. The location is great, quiet, yet close to everything. Wonderful breakfast with fresh French pastries baked by their own chef in a sun filled beautiful room. Very relaxing rooftop deck to watch the sky at night.

    Date of stay: August 2016
    • Trip type: Traveled solo
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank nowmat
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

    Stayed here for four nights while we visited my daughter in Evanston. This was a really nice hotel. It was very comfortable and very well-kept. It's a very old building that's been renovated so there are interesting little quirks. If you enjoy tight elevators with accordion-style doors you'll get a kick out of this place. But the rooms and beds and baths or very comfortable and very well done. We had a slight issue with the booking company that booked us via online services but the hotel handle that without any extra effort by me. I will call them directly next time and avoid their booking agency.

    Date of stay: November 2016
    Trip type: Traveled with family
    Thank 559tomr
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed December 12, 2016

    A charming boutique-style inn in the middle of Evanston - we attended a party 2 buildings away and with the projected snow storm we decided to spend the night. Parking is free and behind the hotel along one row; plenty of spots available. The room was small (double bed) but had all the amenities needed including a hairdryer. Friendly staff at check in and there was even someone on duty when we got in at 2 a.m. Breakfast is continental-style, and included English muffins, toast, oatmeal, yogurt and some wonderful (homemade I think) pastries, plus OJ and plenty of coffee. The breakfast room overlooks the Oak street and has plenty of group seating. I wish we could have spent more time in that room!

    Date of stay: December 2016
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Julie O
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed December 4, 2016

    This was our 5th time to Evanston to enjoy a "staycation" and we finally found the place for us. Don't get me wrong, there are many great places to stay in this lovely town, but this one is for us. Why?
    1-Old charm
    2-Excellent desk personnel (Thanks, Katheryn)
    3-Clean
    4-Continental breakfast to die for (Thanks, Philip)
    5-Reasonably priced and $10 parking off street

    Room tip: SPACE is a must while in Evanston (our reason for going)..... Whole Foods for lunch and Whiskey's for dinner.
    Date of stay: December 2016
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank SOGChicago
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews