We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tom R
Charleston, South Carolina

Visiting family

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 13, 2017via mobile
Stayed here for four nights while we visited my daughter in Evanston. This was a really nice hotel. It was very comfortable and very well-kept. It's a very old building that's been renovated so there are interesting little quirks. If you enjoy tight elevators with accordion-style doors you'll get a kick out of this place. But the rooms and beds and baths or very comfortable and very well done. We had a slight issue with the booking company that booked us via online services but the hotel handle that without any extra effort by me. I will call them directly next time and avoid their booking agency.
Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
$152
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Vio.com
    $152
  • Priceline
    $152
0.3 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Pool
$283
$226
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    $226
  • Priceline
    $226
  • Expedia.com
    $226
0.4 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$127
  • Priceline
    $127
  • Algotels
    $118
  • Expedia.com
    $127
0.4 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$233
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    $234
  • Algotels
    $196
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.5 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Welcome the GEM Museum Suites.
$181
$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • ZenHotels.com
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $181
  • Agoda.com
    $161
0.0 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Room service
Downtown Evanston jewel, near Northwestern University and the Lake
  • HolidayInn.com
    $128
  • Lol.travel
    $126
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby
$131
  • Expedia.com
    $131
  • Algotels
    $125
  • Priceline
    $131
3.1 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Free parking
Description
$64
  • Skyscanner.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.7 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    $125
  • Priceline
    $127
3.7 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $135
  • Hotels.com
3.8 miles from Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Evanston
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
104
60
18
6
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
104
60
18
6
11
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 199 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2016

A charming boutique-style inn in the middle of Evanston - we attended a party 2 buildings away and with the projected snow storm we decided to spend the night. Parking is free and behind the hotel along one row; plenty of spots available. The room was small (double bed) but had all the amenities needed including a hairdryer. Friendly staff at check in and there was even someone on duty when we got in at 2 a.m. Breakfast is continental-style, and included English muffins, toast, oatmeal, yogurt and some wonderful (homemade I think) pastries, plus OJ and plenty of coffee. The breakfast room overlooks the Oak street and has plenty of group seating. I wish we could have spent more time in that room!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 4, 2016

This was our 5th time to Evanston to enjoy a "staycation" and we finally found the place for us. Don't get me wrong, there are many great places to stay in this lovely town, but this one is for us. Why?
1-Old charm
2-Excellent desk personnel (Thanks, Katheryn)
3-Clean
4-Continental breakfast to die for (Thanks, Philip)
5-Reasonably priced and $10 parking off street

Room tip: SPACE is a must while in Evanston (our reason for going)..... Whole Foods for lunch and Whiskey's for dinner.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SOGChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 28, 2016

This hotel is amazing... located at walking distance to anything in downtown Evanston, including Metra trains and the L, restaurants, shopping.

Breakfast is a feast of house made pastries (by Phillipe, a French pastry chef, no less) served at an elegantly decorated parlor, buffet style.

The building is a gem of early 20th century Chicago architecture - we know, we lived in one nearby for 5 years... The rooms were all updated though, so you can expect good heating and a completely new bathroom.

5 out of 5 stars at a very reasonable cost.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto_Martins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 15, 2016

superb staff. very responsive and helpful. Room with King and sitting area was exactly what we needed for a 1 night "stay-cation". Car park location felt relatively guarded and the location of the hotel was exactly what we wanted for walking to any number of restaurants, bars, quick order and even a bakery. Price was right and the time was good.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44JE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile

We didn't know what to expect. We found the lobby is up a flight of stairs. But the building is charming. The Otis elevator has a metal gate that you open & close to enter/exit. The 5th floor open air patio was an unexpected treasure. We carried in Lou Malnati's classic deep dish pizza and ate al fresco in the hidden patio area. This is a charming hotel. We will return!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank karensA9561DY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews