We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful house”
Review of Maunsel House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maunsel House
Ranked #1 of 1 North Newton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2012

my daughter got married there,we booked the house and cottages for a long weekend,the house itself is a wonderful place,the staff were wonderful and could not do enough to please,the wedding planner was called liddy and she was brilliant,words cannot describe the wonderful weekend we had,sir benjamin slade happened to be in the library and he told us a few stories about the house,very interesting,its a pity we have only tho one daughter,would love to stay there again
regards
brian elliott

Room Tip: lady slide room,lovely four poster bed and en-suite
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigbriNewtonAbbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Maunsel House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 144 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed there 3 weeks ago for a wedding, in the Tudor room. Big floppy comfortable bed with lots of pillows, (chocolates on the bed), antique dressers, ancient pictures and some really old books (in sepia print). Every time I looked around the room there was more to see, including a reading nook and little eccentricities. A separate bathroom with a HUGE bath, ready made for two!! Again there were bath foam, urns, pictures, and fluffy dressing gowns. I visited 4 other rooms all equally having the wow factor. The history and careful maintenance shows. The owner Sir Benjamin Slade was seen many times and is very approachable and willing to explain the history of this old manor house. Peacocks even made a welcome visit. Staff were on hand at all times and very proficient and helpful. I loved every waking minute and slept extremely well, waking to enjoy a deep bubble bath, followed by a big breakfast and a walk in the grounds. Heaven. Thank you all for looking after us.

Room Tip: Check on line to see whether you want to be at the top, mezzanine or first floor, and what style roo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chamboNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

A truly gorgeous venue. I would book it myself, but a very good friend wed here, so I can't copy them can I!

We stayed here in December, so the setting was just beautiful - frosty and cold in the countryside.

I already recommend this place to friends.

The location is great as there are rooms in the main building, each individually designed, down to different styled bath rooms, truly spectacular, each room.

There bar is also great, decorated with war time guns and weapons.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We booked this hotel for a family wedding in October and I can honestly say it exceeded all expectations. Everything was wonderful - the best thing is Maunsel house is so homely, you really do feel like you are in a home not a rented purpose made venue. The help given with the wedding planning was second to none, they really do put themselves out to ensure everything goes smoothly and recommend local suppliers for food, flowers etc - all of which did an excellent job. There is a little chapel (and I mean little!) in the grounds - no electricity so a candle lit ceremony is necessary - although there is a bigger church in the village or you can get married in the house itself. The dining areas are superb, cosy yet elegant. There is an interesting bar (normal pub prices and local beers). The rooms are wonderful - the house is a maze with bits added on in various eras of history so the rooms are all very different - nothing like the uniformity of boring hotel rooms. Of course the standard of Maunsel House in general means that the rooms are spotlessly clean - no mean feat in a house which has over 1000 pictures on the walls! The house has atmosphere and charm in abundance, I really cannot say enough good things about it. It's not cheap, but the bride and groom had the most perfect day and the guests are still talking about it! The house can sleep about 20 people and in the grounds there are five (I think) beautiful cottages which can be rented for the guests - there is also a variety of accommodation available locally. I can honestly say there is not one thing that I can criticise about Maunsel House, it was absolutely perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monkeyno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This really is the perfect venue for a wedding. Their attention to detail is wonderful. You'll have an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bootneckphot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Newton
1.6 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
253 reviews
6.2 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
393 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
662 reviews
6.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maunsel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maunsel House

Address: Maunsel House Maunsel Road, North Newton TA7 0BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Newton
Price Range: $157 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maunsel House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maunsel House is a magnificent 13th-century manor set in 100 acres of stunning parkland at the heart of a sprawling 2,000 acre estate, comprising of farms, woodlands, walnut groves, orchards, Somerset wetlands, cottages and ancient barns. Maunsel is primarily a luxury weddings and events venue. Exclusively yours for the duration of your stay, with no restrictions on how you wish to celebrate. Maunsel has 13 exquisite bedrooms, all with their own story to tell and character and some with antique four poster beds. At Maunsel we also have 4 glorious cottages, all fully furnished to the highest of standards. At Maunsel you cannot book individual rooms, instead you can hire the whole house and cottages for your use. The cottages are available for mid week holiday breaks - so should you be after a relaxing getaway we have just the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Maunsel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maunsel House Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing