We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like being at home, but without doing the dishes”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Lindo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Annies Place Panama
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“like being at home, but without doing the dishes”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Annie make you feel at home, only if at home you have a chef living with you. Garden is great, sounds of birds, monkeys are great. We were lucky and enjoy the "fiestas patronales" at puerto lindo "village".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxiMantovani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Annie is what makes the stay at her place a worthwhile experience. She is extremely accommodating, a good conversationalist, and an excellent cook. She will cook large declicious breakfasts as well as made-to-order dinners (dinners are extra, but reasonably priced). Her 2 rooms are small but clean, and the air conditioning works well. She will try and meet your needs to the best of her ability. We ran into some rain when we were there and it was too rough to snorkel out on the reef or go night fishing. Instead, Annie took us to an incredible fresh lobster lunch at a small beach front family owned restaurant. Beer, seafood-life is good. This is definitely a basic home stay. If you want the fancy room with mini bar, etc., there are a few places in the area that will meet this need. However, the cost will be considerable more. It was very relaxing sitting on her porch drinking a rum and coke and listening to the birds and being entertained by dozens of land crabs in the flower garden. One final tip. You can take the bus from Panama City to her place, but having a rental car will make your excursion to Puerto Lindo much more convenient and enjoyable. It is an easy drive to her place (less than 2 hours from PC/best to rent the car from the domestic airport).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvy2olympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I am a single female traveler. Annie welcomed me into her home where she rents two bedrooms to travelers lucky enough to come to her place. She fed me amazing meals (which she is able to do upon request, according to her availability), showed me around the area, taught me to fish like the locals in a night fishing excursion, and overall went above and beyond in making sure I experienced the area to the fullest. A true home away from home and an amazing value for the all encompassing experience of being in Puerto Lindo! Thanks Annie! I will never forget my time in your wonderful little paradise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wonderful place to relax. There were monkeys , toucans, and macaws in the trees that we could watch right from the porch. A river borders the house in the back. Annie our hostess was fantastic….tour guide, chef, and teacher all rolled into one!
There are two rooms, one with bunk beds and one with a double bed. The bathroom is shared. There is an outdoor shower and a hot indoor shower.
There is a small outside kitchen with a sink, Annie is currently getting ready to add a stove and and refrigerator for guests.
Annie took us night fishing, we caught 3 red snappers. Then Annie taught us how to make ceviche. For meals, Annie is more than willing to cook fantastic meals for a very reasonable sum. We had coconut rice and shrimp…..good as any fine restaurant!
Annies Place gives a true Panama experience!....at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank degen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Best choice in the area! Annie welcomed us into her home where she rents air conditioned rooms and hot water showers-----uncommon for this area. Staying at Annie's you also recieve the benefit of her knowledge of the area. She even offers a menu of daytrips, meals, supplies at the most reasonable prices! You can get here by public bus and there is no need for a car. We enjoyed walks under trees where we got to see spider monkey families, walks to the bay, boat rides through mangrove and to snorkel off of small islands. She is only 300 m from the bay. We safely took the bus to Puerto Bella ($1.25) and ate at a couple of area restaurants. We never spent more than $9.00 for a full meal. All was good, but the best by far was the food prepared by Annie herself. We felt like part of the family, not like guests. Not a resort, but a "real" homestay experience, and unless you want a fake resort, this is as good as it gets. Tranquil, clean, . When can we go back????

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Annies Place Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annies Place Panama

Property: Annies Place Panama
Address: Cruce Cacique #3306 | Last house before Yacht Club on Left, Puerto Lindo, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Puerto Lindo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Lindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small guesthouse on the pristine Caribbean coast of Panama, within the Portobelo National Eco-preserve. We are located on a small river, 300 meters from the ocean in the small fishing village of Puerto Lindo. We offer simple, comfortable, inexpensive, lodging and an opportunity to see wildlife, snorkel local and offshore reefs, enjoy deserted island beaches, and fish Panamanian style from a panga for snapper, kingfish, tuna, and sierra (mackerel). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing