We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent food and drink” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Recruiting Sergeant

The Recruiting Sergeant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Horstead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $48
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning pub and restaurant with bedrooms situated in the village of Horstead, near Coltishall, in Norfolk.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've never been disappointed when visiting 'The Recruit', nor any of the other Colchester Inns come to that.
Always a large and imaginative selection of dishes on offer, made with very high quality, locally-sourced ingredients. The staff and management are always hard-working and efficient yet friendly and this seems to generate an atmosphere of general contentment and well-being throughout.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank welshprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    177
    75
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“went for a post xmas meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

As usual a great meal. I had the fish and it was so large it was hanging off my plate . Good service and reasonable cost for the quality.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank coljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
“BOOKED 2 WKS IN ADVANCE-DESERT MENU CHANGED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

booked a party of 6 for the 1st feb 2 wks in advance for my wifes 50th birthday and we all had a wonderful main course.We all had the steak and it was fantastic.one of our party even went as far to say it was the best steak he had ever had..On the down side, when the desert menu arrived it was completly different from when we booked, we were all so looking forward to the banoffi pie but ended up dissapointed with the new desert menu, and 3 of us, including my wife ended up going without a desert, we should have been told when booking that the menu would be changing, very poor communication ! The night was spoilt due to this and ended up on a low, very dissapointed !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good pub, good portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

first time at this pub and was really pleased,if anything the portions are too big,i had the steak and kidney pud it was lovely but couldnt eat it all,friend had fish and chips which was enough for 2

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

So much to choose from, will need to go back! Mussels were amazing but didn't really need the chips, crusty bread was enough.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toffee_appleNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Recruiting Sergeant also viewed

 
South Walsham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Recruiting Sergeant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing