We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hosts”
Review of Maunditts House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Somerford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maunditts House
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed there for two nights with my wife and our parents. Laura went out of her way to make us feel at home. Fabulous breakfasts (she even made up some haggis for us to try... she's Scottish). The rooms are clean, well equipped, and guarded by a kindly dog named Red who looks sort of like what a child's picture of a dog might. Really a fantastic few nights out in the country.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraAtMaunditts, Owner at Maunditts House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Steve, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family and thank you for choosing to stay with us as part of your honeymoon travels. I hope you enjoyed your onward trips to Cornwall, Paris and Bruge and that you had the sunshine we have enjoyed here over the last few days. I hope you and your parents manage to visit us again the next time you are travelling to the UK from Australia and the USA.

I like your description of Red! Now you mention it, he does look rather like a Quentin Blake drawing!

We wish you and Jess a long and happy future together. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 72 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

My colleagues and I got out of London on the "spur of the moment" luckily for us I stayed at Maunditts House before so I decided to take them there!! Plenty to see in Malmesbury area and nice walks and pubs. Thank you Laura for a lovely, relaxed and enjoyable stay. The room was perfect and the breakfast delicious. Until we meet again...

Room Tip: I loved the 'lavender room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeliaM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraAtMaunditts, Owner at Maunditts House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

It was great to see you again Delia, thank you for choosing to come and stay with us again.

Try to come again now the weather is improving, at last it's just about possible to walk across the fields to the pub without wellies!

I am glad you like our new Four Poster room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Two of us on a motorcycle had a few nights stay to see the sights in Malmesbury. We were very impressed with the whole experience at the Maunditts House. We arrived earlier than anticipated and were made welcome with a pot of tea and biscuits. Most appreciated after our journey! The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and we enjoyed our two nights stay. Our host had an extensive knowledge of Malmesbury area which was great. The breakfast was excellent - cooked freshly to order with quality ingredients. Very attentive service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraAtMaunditts, Owner at Maunditts House, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we enjoyed hearing about your motorbiking adventures - lots of ideas for us to consider when we have our next holiday! We did very little biking this year due mainly to the horrid wet weather, fingers crossed for more sunshine this year! Wishing you both all the best for 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is our second visit to Maunditt's House. We love the food, we love the hospitality and we love the four-poster bed! It is warm and welcoming and the hosts Laura and Struan could not be more accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weebalaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraAtMaunditts, Owner at Maunditts House, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thanks for choosing to stay with us again- it was great to welcome you back to Maunditts House.
We hope you enjoyed your long walk along the river despite the flooding! We look forward to seeing you again in 2013 and wish a very happy Christmas and prosperous New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at Maunditts house when we were attending a wedding nearby. The hostess could not have been more welcoming, despite us arriving at quite a late hour!
The room was very well equipped, warm, clean and the bathroom was luxurious!
There was lots of information available on the local area, and the hostess was happy to recommend things to do in the locality.
The breakfasts were delicious; home cooked and even homemade preserves which added a lovely touch.
Maunditts house certainly is a little gem to be discovered; we will most definitely return if we are in the area again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katieellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Arrived after a full day's cycling and was given a very warm welcome by Laura. The room was of a very high standard, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. The bathroom in this particular room had a bath, just what I needed to soak away the day's aches from the legs. Evening meal was well prepared, very hot, and very tasty, as was the breakfast. To sum up, Maunditts House is in my opinion at the top end of the b&b charts, at a very reasonable price. I didn't meet Struan on my short visit, but Laura proved to be the perfect hostess.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraAtMaunditts, Owner at Maunditts House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

I so glad you found your stay with us comfortable and relaxing! I really enjoyed hearing about your 1000 mile sponsored bike trip and we hope your continuing journey all goes according to plan. A fantastic effort -(Isle of Wight to the Isle of Lewis!) - we will be thinking about you as you head through Scotland. I have been following your blog - you make it sound so easy!! Thanks for finding the time to leave us a review. Good luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Maunditts House while attending a wedding nearby and were very impressed. The room was lovely, with a great en-suite and good choice of in-room refreshments, including complimentary Haribo! There was also a small kitchen area though we did not use it. The owner was also very friendly – offered us a fresh pot of tea or coffee on arrival and was very helpful in answering all our queries. And the breakfast was delicious, with very good quality ingredients all round. We enjoyed the whole experience and felt it was really great value for the price. We can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollycat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroo, Owner at Maunditts House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind review - I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to pass on your recommendation to other Tripadvisor users.
I hope you can find an excuse to come and stay with us again in the future and introduce us to your new baby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Somerford
2.2 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
550 reviews
4.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
847 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Horse Guards
The Horse Guards
#1 of 1 in Brokenborough
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Horse & Groom Inn
The Horse & Groom Inn
#1 of 2 in Charlton
176 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Maunditts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maunditts House

Address: | Little Somerford, Wiltshire, Little Somerford, Chippenham SN15 5BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham > Little Somerford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Little Somerford
Price Range: $30 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maunditts House is situated 2 miles from the historic town of Malmesbury on the B4042 in the direction of Wootton Bassett and Swindon. We are only a few miles from either J16 or J17 of the M4.We are ideally situated for easy access to Malmesbury, Tetbury, Chippenham, Swindon, Cirencester and the Cotswolds. Our location is very convenient for events at Winkworth Farm, Badminton House, Castle Combe Race Circuit, Kemble Airfield, Gatcombe Park, Cheltenham, Cotswold Water Park, Westonbirt Arboretum and the Womad Festival. We are 10 minutes from the M4 and therefore Bath, Bristol and Swindon are within easy driving distance. We hope you like what you see and will choose to come and stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and can assure you that we will do everything we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any special requirements. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing