We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selemadeg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kubu Balian Beach Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 3 Selemadeg B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Kubu in Balian was fantastic . The bungalows and small gardens are pleasant tranquil old style Bali feel which suited our needs perfectly . Staff where friendly and did a lovely job keeping our bungalow clean and fresh . Jenni our host was so helpful ,thank you Jenni . This place is truly a paradise . Short walks to a number of small restaurants , surf beach , and places to see the most wonderful sunsets . Would I visit again ? Oh most definitely . Tim & Romena

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 5TIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly100, Owner at Kubu Balian Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thanks Tim and Romena
We are so glad you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you again.
Jeni and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

As travellers and part time reviewers we tend to be subjective in our reviews however, in this review I believe an objective review best describes Kubu as excellent value for money. The room was large and clean, bed linen changed on a regular basis, big balcony with one of the best vista in the village, the staff pleasant and extremely helpful and in my case transported me to the local doctor after a surfing accident. As a long term guest I recommend Kubu as excellent accommodation and value for money. Ian and Jeni are welcoming hosts at Kubu Balian.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly100, Owner at Kubu Balian Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you Geoff for your review. We are always glad to have you here. Hope you continue on with us.
Ian and Jeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here for a week in July and found all aspects of the accommodation to be a good standard and the staff to be very friendly. The host Ian and Jeni make you feel very welcome. The bungalows are basic but meet your needs and are very economical . The breakfast was basic but when it is delivered to your veranda, I had no complaints. The location and views are to die for, with enough small eateries within an easy walk. I recommend Balian and Kubu for a relaxing break from the busy parts of Bali and to get a real sense of the real Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soulsurfer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I enjoyed staying at kubu as it was laid back and friendly staff with the nice goose running around.

The hotel itself is aged and looking worn inside. The walls inside the rooms are a bit grubby and could do with a fresh paint job. The bathrooms are a bit tired looking as well and don't get a proper cleaning. The mattress and pillow are a bit mouldy smelling and will need to be replaced sometime soon.

The lounge room with TV is nice and so is the outside sitting area.

This is a budget option that probably caters to the young surfing backpacker and thus its most likely adequate in that regard. I would not want to pay top $$$ for this in high season if the prices go up because I think there might be newer hotels in the area.

Overall, though I would still recommend this hotel. If some money was spent on the place it could return to its former glory

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly100, Owner at Kubu Balian Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thanks for your input. Pillows are all new as of 6 months ago. Mattresses flipped over yearly and still good. Ceiling fans now being replaced as the metal blade rusts and gets condensation which marks the walls. On fan replacement we are re painting inside all rooms, starting in the big bungalow at the front. Bathrooms are cleaned daily and have good extra scrub monthly.
We believe we provide good value for money in the medium price range places in Balian.
Cheers
Ian and Jeni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The location is stunning. If you like to surf, why stay in Kuta/Uluwatu when you can come to this hidden gem. I came with my wife and two young kids, and didn't surf, but it was fantastic to watch them out there. The sea is too rough to swim in, but the views are fantastic.
The accommodation sits at the top of the small hill, we stayed in bungalow 1 and the balcony overlooks the sea. Very spacious property, clean and well stocked.
We used it as a base, and then walked the three minutes down the hill and used the beach-side pool from one of the other Hotels (just buy a drink there, and you can stay all day).

Jeni and Ian made us very welcome at Kubu Balkan, and breakfast is brought to your veranda each morning, which is a great personal tough.
There are enough restaurants to choose from and the cost of a big bintang is less than the cost of a small bintang in most Kuta restaurants.
Great place to spend a few days to chill out, and if you like to surf, you could easily stay a month.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Kubu Balian Beach Bungalows were the first place we (my wife, and our mothers) stayed at when we arrived in Bali. We arranged with our hosts (Ian and Jeni) to be picked up from the airport; which was great because if you have never been to Bali, Denpasar is quite hectic when it comes to traffic.

Upon arrival, Ian and Jeni were there to greet as as well as their friendly staff. We booked the 2-storey, 3 bedroom bungalow that overlooks the ocean, which was a great way to start our 2 month adventure.

The stairs up to the 2nd floor were a bit steep. Though we found this to be similar all over Bali and even Lombok. The bedrooms were spacious and clean. There is no AirCon, but the ceiling fans to a great drop bringing in the ocean breeze and keeping you comfortable. There is a in-room safe on the 2nd floor. The bathroom is nice and you do get the visiting gecko or two at night. The fulls-sized fridge was always stocked with water, pop and beer. They even have snacks like chips and cookies.

Breakfasts were served each morning on the front balcony of our bungalow. You would just have to tell the staff what you wanted and when you wanted it and they would bring it to you. Breakfasts included fresh fruit, Balinese coffee and your choice of eggs or pancakes (crepes) or toast with jam.

The grounds themselves are beautiful. The plants, the layout and even the small plunge pool were a welcomed treat after our 24hr journey from Vancouver to Bali.

There are a few restaurants to eat lunch and dinner nearby. The beach itself is an 8 minute walk from the property. The village was wonderful to walk around and watch people go about their days.

There is no Wifi on the property, but there is at the restaurants nearby. The best spot was the restaurant at the end of the road to the beach. It costs being like $4 for the whole day of access.

We highly recommend staying at Kubu Balian Beach Bungalows! When we come back to Bali, we will be definitely staying with Ian and Jeni again. We would also stay more than 3 nights too.

If you want to read more about our stay and see more photos please check out my blog post here: http://www.tyleringram.com/blog/bali-accommodation-kubu-balian-beach-bungalows

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnyxDragun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Selemadeg hotels
0.2 mi away
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Selemadeg
186 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sahaja Sawah Resort
Sahaja Sawah Resort
#1 of 1 in Tegal Mengkeb
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ketapang Estate
Ketapang Estate
#1 of 1 in Tegal Mengkeb
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Alassari Plantation
Alassari Plantation
#1 of 6 in Selemadeg
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surya Homestay
Surya Homestay
#3 of 6 in Selemadeg
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kubu Balian Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubu Balian Beach Bungalows

Address: Balian Beach, Selemadeg, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Selemadeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Selemadeg
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing