We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a sweet spot. Stay here now.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aux Ecuries du Chateau
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Just a lovely little spot in a great location. Large clean rooms, each with a little patio. The building is fairly new, so no problems with temperature, water pressure, etc. The women who owns / runs the place is friendly and very accomodating - we gave her a list of three restuarants we wanted to try for dinner and she made reservations for us. Breakfast is one of the best we have had at any B&B - fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh French Press coffee, croissant, cheese, yogurt. Note that there is not much (other than some pretty forest - we saw a red deer one afternoon) around the hotel - this is a place to base yourself and visit Fecamp, the Alabaster Coast, Honfleur (a must see), etc. Overall, really nice and a great value.

Room Tip: They are all pretty good. We had 'Shetland' which was on the back corner and may have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 51 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Me, my husband and another couple were travelling from Zebrugge to Normandy on motorcycles, and pre-booked this B and B as our half-way stop off for our first night in France.

Although the owner, Valerie and her husband speak only limited English, we were able to book our rooms via email, directly. They did not require a deposit and were more than happy to accept motorcyclists.

The Chateau is close to the pretty resort of Fecamp, about a 10 minute drive. It is also handy for Dieppe, and Le Havre. Unfortunately we were delayed by a heavy thunderstorm early evening and so it was dark by the time we were able to get back on our bikes and ride to the chateau. Due to the darkeness, lack of knowledge of the area and no sat nav it took us a little while to find the house as it is down a farm track, in the middle of a wood, down a country lane.

The chateau and the welcome we received was well worth the effort. Valerie and her husband were welcoming and hospitable. Once we were settled and unpacked they offered us drinks, with them in their large, beautiful home. The couple were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The rooms we stayed in were converted stables, attached to the main house. They were large, comfortable, and warm, decorated to a high standard, and with beautifully clean en suite shower rooms. The rooms looked out onto a forest, and each had it's own patio area accessible via French Windows. There was also ample parking for cars or motorbikes. The location meant that the safety of the vehicles was not an issue.

Breakfast the next morning was typical of France with lots of lovely fresh bread, croissents, preserves, cereals, tea and coffee or chocolate.

The cost of a double room with breakfast for one night was 75 euros, and while this is not cheap, it was certainly value for money. We would certainly return to this accommodation in the future, and feel it is well worth recommending to other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmittyEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank stephy123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambre coté entrée spacieuse et calme
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanpas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charly13Luxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soda060293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aux Ecuries du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aux Ecuries du Chateau

Address: 2 impasse du Chateau, 76400 Contremoulins, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Contremoulins
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Contremoulins
Price Range: $92 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A proximité d'Etretat et de Fécamp, dans les anciennes écuries du château de Contremoulins, entièrement restaurées, Valérie vous accueille au sein d'un parc d'un hectare aux arbres centenaires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aux Ecuries du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing