We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Elmhurst
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2006

Booked this hotel with Hotwire. Needed 3 rooms and a convenient place to stay and travel into Chicago for sight-seeing. Hotel met our needs; convenient to have kitchen amenities for b/fast and drinks. There is a supermarket about 1/2 mile from hotel to buy needed supplies. Hotel is clean, although outdated. Fridge in room was extremely loud and toaster didn't work. Good value for the price we paid.

  • Liked — convenience to Interstate into downtown Chicago; fridge, cooktop
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Tips/Secrets — Dominicks supermarket not far from hotel; park in Millenium Park car park for good all day price in downtown Chicago
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridgenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    17
    6
    14
See reviews for
18
14
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
132 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

Like the second reviewer, I booked here through Hotwire, and had an excellent rate, less than 1/4 of the rates at downtown hotels. Having had less than great experiences at ESAs before, I was somewhat doubtful, but in the event, it was fine. This is a well kept ESA, clean, and with friendly staff. The room was quiet, fresh, and pleasant. I saw no evidence of the problems encountered by the first reviewer. I did not use the kitchen in my room, however it was nice to have the refridgerator. Location requires a car, it is an easy 15 minute drive to O'Hare. For my trips into downtown Chicago I took the car to Forest Park station park and ride, and then took the blue line train.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2006

Hotwire placed me in this hotel.....and after reading the previous review, I was more than a bit skeptical. I arrived to find the grounds crew working on the shrubs and flowers, all of which was very attractive. My room was large and most importantly......very, very clean...including the hallways. Everything worked in the room and bath, and it was great having the refrigerator and microwave in the room. My room was quiet, although there is a major roadway close to one side of the hotel. If you use maps, be aware that Grand Avenue is NOT highway 20. All in all, this was a very pleasant one night stay....I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2006

I spent four nights at the ExtendedStay America in Elmhurst, which was four nights too many. Access is difficult, as the driveway is located on a curve on busy Grand Avenue. Entry door is hard to open when carrying luggage. There is no designated loading zone parking space adjacent to the entrance.

Once inside, there is a garbage storage room across from the elevator on each floor, so you get to inhale that while waiting for the elevator.

In the room, they seemed to have put a king size sheet on the queen size bed, so that slid around under you all night long. The carpeting needed some serious cleaning. The plastic card room key only worked if you jiggled it just right.

I can't imagine actually enduring an extended stay at this place. It's an embarrassment to Elmhurst, which is really a nice town.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dubuquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elmhurst hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmhurst
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Elmhurst/Oakbrook Area
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elmhurst/Oakbrook Area
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center
4.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago O'Hare
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Addison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare

Property: Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare
Address: 550 W Grand Ave, Elmhurst, IL 60126-1031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Elmhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Elmhurst
Extended Stay Elmhurst
Elmhurst Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing