We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Elmhurst
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband, parents and I recently stayed at the Waterford Clarion because our son was having his wedding and reception in their convention area. We arrived in the midst of Chicago’s worst rain ever with flooding rampant. The hotel is located within easy driving distance of the toll way and we located it quickly using the website directions in the torrential rainfall. The staff promptly checked us into our rooms, which were comfortable, clean and laid out well. My parents had a double room which had two comfortable beds, refrigerator and microwave, cushioned chair and desk. We had a king-suite room which was larger and also came with a pull-out sofa.
With all the plane cancellations throughout our stay due to the weather, the lobby was bustling with distressed passengers being brought over from O’Hare Airport. We even watched a news helicopter hover over the river behind the hotel transmitting a live report about the flooding on the opposite side. Yet with all this chaos, the front desk personnel were always efficient and pleasant. Anything we asked for was promptly located and delivered, even an unusual request for a large empty box. The café is open only for breakfast and dinner, but the tables and televisions are always available. The hotel is connected with the convention center through the lobby and café. They have an adequate exercise room and an indoor pool, both of which were also kept clean. The only negative would be the lack of an elevator when checking in with your luggage, but they kept luggage carts at the top of the stairs to help you down the long hallways.
The convention side of the hotel also was efficiently staffed. All the wedding functions planned went smoothly, even with the large guest count.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the back hallway to steer clear of hallway and outside door noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 225 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

To start off with, comforter was soiled with some gross stain! I did not bother houskeeping on the first night since I was a late arrival. I reported it the next AM and it was not changed when I returned from work. I was getting ready to check out, but the manager graciously offered theirbest suite to stay. I accepted, but that doesn't change the fact that this old tired out of the way property is no bargin. Next AM, I went to get the cup of ususal lobby coffee and the girl happily announced that it was $1.95. There is no choice hotel anyhwere that has coffee worth that much. The parking lot if full of holes--full of them.

Room Tip: Don't!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToughOlBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past few years. They do their best to keep things in good shape and have recently done some much needed updating to the pool area. I was travelling with the family this time and the huge pool (compared to most hotel pools) is wonderful and our favorite feature of the hotel.

Rooms are a little tight, so we opted for adjoining rooms (2 double beds in each) to fit our family of 6. That works out very well for us as the extra bathroom sure does help!

Like some other reviewers I too miss the free breakfast we usually get at Choice Hotels. We never use the Bistro, but instead opt to go out, or go pick up what we need at the Dominick's just down the street (North on Route 83) and bring it back to the hotel to eat. Much cheaper that way. If they brought back the free breakfast it would be much appreciated. We have stayed at a nearby hotel in Lombard (also a Choice Brand hotel) and they still have the free breakfast, so if the free breakfast outweighs the bigger pool that is a good place to stay also. But if the bigger pool is more important when travelling with the kids, this is the place to be.

Staff are always very helpful and professional.

Room Tip: If you need more space for a larger family ask for adjoining rooms...they have them with 2 double be...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very clean, great staff. The Bistro personnel were very accomodating, friendly and made me feel welcome. The front desk was also very nice. When we come back to the area we will use Clarion Inn at Waterford again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before because it is convenient for us to visit ailing relatives. In the past they offered the usual free continental breakfast. This suited us because we could have a quick, light breakfast before we began our day. Now this service has been discontinued and a "bistro" put in its place. You can now buy something from the tiny bistro and have a $1.90 coffee. A happy hour is also offered which consisted of a choice of a couple of beers and chicken wings at $.50 a piece. Even the young lady serving in the bistro had to shake her head when we questioned these new changes. For an old, worn hotel (with huge potholes in the parking lot) they are now offering less. We will find another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fastcarCoppell_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfindlay, General Manager at Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are very disappointed to learn that your stay experience fell below your expectations. I appreciate you taking time out to convey four feelings and concerns as we always use this to make the necessary changes to improve our property and quality of service . As a Clarion Hotel were are a full service property hence the complimentary breakfast is no longer an option. Bistro C is our new restaurant concept and has become our primary option for meals. As you've noticed on your recent visit, we have just completed full renovation on the building and are currently working to improve on exterior structures including our parking lot. I can assure you that all our improvement projects are done with our valued customers in mind. We will continue to improve on our service and product to ensure your value for money. We appreciate your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

First, this property is located hidden back off the highway in an industrial type area which does make it quiet but not in a very desirable location. Watch out for the numerous pot holes in the large parking lot. We had a king bed room and it was small. The hotel is old but nicely renovated but that can not make up for the small room. While ok for 1 person it was tight for 2. The tiny closet was not very functional since a suitcase would not fit in it. There was only room for 1 suitcase in the room and after that it was taking up floor space somewhat inconveniently. There is a chair in the corner of the room but not very functional for sitting without any place to rest your feet, more for looks than function. We found housekeeping so, so, not replenishing the items in the bathroom but the front desk did have plenty when we asked. Value was just so-so since no breakfast included in the rate. While we had planned to stay 4 nights we checked out after 2 and found much better accomodations nearby at another Choice Hotel property and that probably sums up my review. We are returning to the area in a couple of weeks and will not be staying here but over at the other hotel which was a much larger and better value including breakfast in the rate.

Room Tip: Unfortunately we were told all king bed rooms face the large parking lot. Also, beware that there is...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PopTopBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We used the Waterford Convention Center for our wedding reception and it was wonderful! The staff was so helpful and willing to do whatever we asked! They set everything up for our reception and it was gorgeous! Everyone kept telling us how wonderful it was and how much they loved it! Thanks so much for making our day so special!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmhurst
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elmhurst/Oakbrook Area
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center

Address: 933 S Riverside Dr, South Rte 83, Elmhurst, IL 60126-4941 (Formerly Quality Inn Elmhurst)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Elmhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Elmhurst
Price Range: $91 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn® Waterford Conference Center in Elmhurst is conveniently located on Route 83, minutes from Oakbrook Center for shopping and Oakbrook Terrace Corporate Center, and accessible from Chicago's major highways, such as Interstates 290, 294, 88 and 55. Points of interest close to the hotel include: •O'Hare International Airport •Wrigley Field - home of the Chicago Cubs •Brookfield Zoo •Lake Michigan •U.S. Cellular Field - home of the Chicago White Sox *The Shedd Aquarium *Museum of Science and Industry *United Center - home of the Chicago Bulls and Blackhawks *McDonalds University. You can also browse local museums or enjoy world-class shopping and restaurants in our area. The Odeum Expo Center, Ditka's restaurant, downtown Chicago, College of DuPage, DeVry University and Elmhurst College are also close to our hotel. Be sure to take advantage of this Clarion Inn's full-service features like the newly opened Bistro C, offering a variety of breakfast and dinner options. Other amenities at the Clarion Inn Waterford Conference Center include: •Free high-speed Internet access •Free newspaper Monday - Friday •Free local calls •Indoor heated pool. Business travelers will appreciate large desks, our 24-hour business center, state-of-the-art meeting rooms, and access to copy and fax services. All of our 104 guest rooms have been newly renovated and offer refrigerators, microwave oven, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch flat-screen televisions with HD channels. Laundry facilities are located on the property as an added guest convenience. Ample on-site parking is available and can accommodate cars, trucks and buses. Our courtyard features a gazebo and fresh flowers which are perfect for photographs. Whether traveling to the Elmhurst area for business or pleasure, the Clarion Inn Waterford Conference Center is committed to your satisfaction. Exceptional customer service and attention to detail will ensure that your stay is a great one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Waterford Hotel Elmhurst
Quality Inn Elmhurst
Elmhurst Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing