We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year Round YUM!”

Elijah's Specialty Coffee
Ranked #6 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Elmhurst
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Year Round YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I love visiting Elijah's in the summer, when I can sit outside (the shop on Vallette) and enjoy my iced Americano while my kids have their smoothies. (Although not made with actual fruit, they are made with fruit puree and NO corn syrup!) My husband's favorite menu item is the frozen hot chocolate, which is served with chocolate whip cream! Elijah's offers free wi-fi to everyone, which I see Elmhurst College kids using on a regular basis. Both the locations offer an area for small children, complete with table games and books. My folks visit weekly for the steel cut oatmeal, which they swear is the best they've ever had. I love the house blend coffee, the lattes and Americanos. My favorite winter treat is a Dirty Chai, which is not on the menu, but was recommended by a barista. It's a chai latte with a few shots of espresso - and it is AMAZING! I've tried it at three other coffee houses in Elmhurst (one chain, two independent) and they didn't come close to perfecting it the way Elijah's has! Be sure to grab a punch card when you're there - 11 punches and the 12th drink is free!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamKCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Coffee of Chicagoland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

To put it simply: I love mochas and I travel a lot. After sampling mochas from all over the US and Europe, I can honestly say that Elijah's makes the best mocha I've ever had. Try one today. Iced is the best.

Helpful?
Thank Hayskeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellwood, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy coffees and teas and foods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

A great variety of coffees and teas, plus yummy scones, plus always friendly service--Elijah's is a winner!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theogrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to chill and warm up at the same time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Elijah's owners and staff are welcoming as they provide an oasis for family and friends to gather. Their cozy decor creates a relaxing environment, making it feel like a home away from home. In addition to a variety of coffees, they also serve, teas, smoothies, and other beverages. Pastries, cookies, breads, scones and muffins are available as well. They've created their own recipe for gluten-free muffins which are fantastic. Live music is performed in both locations and I am so looking forward to this week's performances!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 1234Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty Indie Coffee Shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

The family stopped in at Elijah's for an afternoon pick me up. The place is very nicely done with comfortable seating arranged in cozy groupings. I chatted with the guy behind the counter and we talked coffee stuff (I'm a huge coffee snob). The adults had cafe au lait, which was smooth and tasty (not at all like that goo Starbucks serves) and our son had apple juice. We shared a gluten free muffin and an apple scone. The scone was more of a cookie than a scone, but it was very tasty. We will certainly go back when we are in the area again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penguinjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elijah's Specialty Coffee also viewed

Elmhurst, DuPage County
Elmhurst, DuPage County
 
Elmhurst, DuPage County
Elmhurst, DuPage County
 

Been to Elijah's Specialty Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing