We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Old, Something New”

Lizzadro Museum of Lapidary Art
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Elmhurst
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Museum is dedicated to the art of cutting and polishing stone. We house a world class collection of jade and hard-stone cravings along with an interactive Rock and Mineral exhibit that is great for all ages!
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Something Old, Something New”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The museums permanent displays are interesting and beautiful, but they also host several special displays throughout the year so there is something new there all the time. Don't miss the gift shop! It is a great place to find a lovely and unique gift for adults and children.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiliBoo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    25
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Nice Surprise”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I decided to spend a few hours in Elmhurst before his Dr.'s appointment. Tripadvisor rated this museum very well. It was even better than we thought it would be. Very interesting. Extensive collection of gems and stones. Very nice diaramas (very interesting way to display the rock carvings) and mosaics and gem stones. All very rare, never before seen displays. When you are in the lower level, select at least one video to watch about lapidary. The gift shop has a lot of interesting items, too, at various price levels. We spent about 2 hours here, and probably could have spent another 1/2 hour watching a couple more videos.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank indianamerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
357 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you're a fan of precious stones, you won't be disappointed. It is filled with truly mind-blowing art made out of rare jades, agate, coral, crystal, ivory, amber and other precious materials - mostly carvings. Everything from statues, bowls, cameos, vases, snuff bottles and then little dioramas including animal carvings attractive for kids. I just couldn't believe it, everywhere I looked there was something else that I couldn't imagine how it was ever created. Another floor had interesting educational displays. Amazing place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Killer gift shop ”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Haven't walked around museum in years, but always sneak in go to use bathroom and vist gift shop. Always seem to have to pretty cool stuff. Most of which you didn't know you needed till just then

Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Fiberoptics and LED lighting really makes this place ROCK”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Wow, I'm glad we allowed at least 2 hours for the Lizzadro Lapidary Museum. We were visiting from outta town, and had a couple hours before flights home. The exterior of the building is quite dated from the 1960's, but the interior knocked my socks off. The new cases and lighting really made these fine works sparkle and shine. No wonder they need a (friendly) guard with so many pieces of fine Chinese jade. Their little collection must be worth tens of millions...

The entrance fee and the gift shop are both pretty reasonably-priced.

We will recommend to all our relatives.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenillumination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lizzadro Museum of Lapidary Art also viewed

Elmhurst, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 
Elmhurst, DuPage County
Wheaton, DuPage County
 

Been to Lizzadro Museum of Lapidary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing