We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding and stay”
Review of The Ballymac Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ballymac Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoneyford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wedding and stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who informed us of when breakfast etc was and pointed us to our room, the room it's self was very spacious and well presented, this was however let down by the bathroom which was very tired looking (infact te bath needed to be resealed, this was also an issue in a friends room) and there was mould round the bath and hair in the plug hole from the previous user. There was a large kettle without tea and coffee however when we advised reception of this they sent some down.

Breakfast in the morning was good, well cooked and not cold, although it was very quiet the service was good and fast,

The Wedding

The room where the ceremony was held was a fair size however the layout of the pillars made the position of the seating awkward. With some areas with poor viewing.

The function room was also a good size and laid out well, it had 2 areas an eating/dance area and a pub/bar area. The service again was good and the staff pleasant there was not an excessive delay between courses which you sometimes get. The portion sizes were large and the food was of a very good standard and hot.

The only issue with the hotel is that they have blinds and not curtains in the rooms, although the hotel is in the middle of nowhere the security lights in the car park are on all night (pointed right at the window) and are very bright, this meant that the room was never dark, I did raise this as I checked out and I was under the impression that this had not been raised as an issue before but was told that it would be passed on to management, the other issue was the price of the drinks as they were very expensive and as a result we ate out on our last night.

Room Tip: Any room not facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    53
    27
    18
    9
See reviews for
89
46
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

july 2013, at wedding anniversary party, I observed the rudest, cheekiest bar manager ive ever seen get right into a ladys face while telling her that her job was to sit there and shut up, there was no excuse for this rudness, this cheeky so and so was going out of his way to be confrontational, this header should not be in the hospitality business at all, there has been complaints put to the management about this behaviour, it would be interesting to see the outcome of the compliants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here with the family a few times on a Sunday,Food and service was brill.Plenty of seating areas....love the mash potatoes!...service was great.I also went to a few weddings here also,great place to stay...very clean....Just around the corner there is stonyford dam....great place to walk off all the food!We will visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triplejjj1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A great hotel, with very courteous and friendly staff. Rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent with a very varied menu which will suit any taste. I have always stayed here when working in the Lisburn area and hopefully will continue to do so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnoldkevin5c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Béal Feirste, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here last year for a night on the £90 offer for b&b and evening meal. The food was beautiful and great value for what we paid. The bathroom was a bit dated but the room was a good size and comfortable. Staff were very friendly also. It is a bit far out but ok if you drive. Would definatley go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Down
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

First time visit to this hotel on 29th June 2013. Have passed this hotel many many times but really never had the occasion to stop until recently. On way to the airport on holiday we had some time to spare so decided to call in for lunch. First impressions were good regarding general ambience/decor/welcome. Were shown to a table by a friendly waitress. The bar/dining area was not busy, only a scattering of diners, maybe a dozen at most however considering the location way out in the country on a Saturday afternoon I suppose that would be the norm. The service was excellent, the food was excellent with good sized portions and even the Manager or owner (not sure who he was however he did look and sound important) took the time to chat and showed an interest in us as customers. The only down side was the waiter who took our order was chewing gum which did not look very professional. On saying that, we certainly would go back to the Ballymac and probably sooner rather than later, we would recommend. But for that one waiter we would have given this establishment 5 stars instead of 4.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileandbehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Amazing food, amazing prices.
Never disappoints.
Turkey & ham is cooked to perfection.
Staff are excellent.
Warm, friendly atmosphere with a great vibe.
Great for a family meal.
Can't wait to return!
Only downfall is I live in Belfast and it is a touch out of the way, may be difficult to find for travelers but it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebaberanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoneyford
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Aldergrove
389 reviews
Beechlawn House Hotel
#36 of 44 in Belfast
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,513 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,165 reviews
Maldron Hotel Belfast
#29 of 44 in Belfast
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ballymac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ballymac Hotel

Property: The Ballymac Hotel
Address: 7A Rock Road, Stoneyford BT28 3SU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Stoneyford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoneyford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ballymac Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ballymac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing