We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant accomodation”
Review of Good Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Good Cottages
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant accomodation”
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We stayed at Good cottages for 3 nights and a had a lovely stay. The owners made us feel very welcome and the accomodation is definitley a 5*. We hope to go back next year and stay for a week.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hasdells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
25
3
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LLay Wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Good Cottages from Monday 20th October to Friday 24th October. I can without hesitation recommend a stay here as the standard of the cottages is quite simply superb. They are perfectly located for visits to the stunning North Antrim coast and to other points of interest such as the St Patrick exhibits in Armagh and Downpatrick. The cottages also make visits to Belfast, Fermanagh and all other parts of Northern Ireland very easy. These factors combined with a very warm and friendly welcome from the owner Mrs Elaine Good ensured that our break in Northern Ireland lived up to and exceded all of our expectations. I look forward to returning in the not to distant future.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and very high standard of fixtures and fittings
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardLLayWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

If you have a car and don't want to be based in Belfast then this is a great base when visiting Northern Ireland. Being only a couple of miles off the M1 makes getting their easy while still being a peaceful, quiet location. The cottage itself was perfect. Built in 2007 ours had two bedrooms (one with twin beds the other a double and a single bed) both with their own shower room. The kitchen was well equipped and included a washing machine and dishwasher (there were even tablets for the dishwasher). Everything was new and clean and the owners were very helpful.

  • Liked — The high standard of the cottages
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NJBABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We were looking for a cottage away from Belfast but with easy access to the capital, both airports, the countryside and the coast. Good Cottages was perfect.
We wanted top quality accommodation with all the facilities we would expect at home, so that we could make it feel like home for our stay. Everything was as good (if not better) than at home. Our hosts also made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble, yet they were never intrusive.
Our visit was a trully splendid expereience and we would recommend good cottages to everyone.

  • Liked — quality
  • Disliked — it was all good
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lisburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We found Good Cottages on the internet, we were very lucky they had availability. We are really impressed. Considering the cost of hotel rooms and B&B's, it really is value for money. The standard is very high. We weren't expecting what we got at all. The cottage that we had has 4 bedrooms 3 bathrooms, a lovely comfortable lounge with an open fire, a lovely fitted kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, wi fi. They even made a little welcome basket for us with tea, coffee, milk, cereal. There is a BP garage close by to get little bits from for your stay, including a "Subway". I would definately recommend this accomodation, although I shouldn't because it means it will get busy and I might not be able to get in next time!! I can't wait to come back

  • Liked — The quality of the cottages
  • Disliked — Timed heating
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TNADZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Have stayed for business a few times at the Good Cottages, both times could not fault my stay.

There is everything here you need Iron, Iron Boards, Hair Dryers, Internet Access even washing machines and dishwasher.

The standard of the accomodation is excellent, new clean bathrooms and comfortable beds, with a cosy fire.

Love the fact that its like home from home and nothing is a trouble to Elaine.



Lisa - Newcastle Upon Tyne

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We have just returned from a week at Good Cottages number 3. We were part of a large family group visiting relatives to celebrate my husband's aunt's80th b'day. Although we arrived before the offical handover time Elaine and Wesley were VVV welcoming and were only to happy to show us round our fantastic cottage.
The cottage is all on one level with two massive bedrooms( in one a double and 2 singles, in the other 3 singles). Each room had its own v large bathroom. The kitchen/Living room is well laid out whether you are cooking or relaxing. The entrance meant wet coats could be stored and dried out of the way!!!!
After the tour Elaine gave us info on where to do our shopping and stressed that if we needed anything to let her know.
The b'day party was a brillant despite the hastily rearranged venue to due the flooding!!!!!!!! A very good time was had by all. Elaine was on hand to wave the family members leaving on the monday and took this opportunity to check with us that we had everything we needed.
The rest of our stay was fantastic more visiting relatives, family haunts,the impressive Mount Stewart, the wonderful mourne mountains, stunning coastline of the causeway,walking the prom at Newcastle and even a bit of outlet shopping!!!!! Yes we did see the sun although northern ireland wouldn't be the same without a drop of rain!!!
Elaine and Wesley's cottages are in a good location, very high standard with that extra special bonus of superb hosts.

  • Liked — Access to road network/airport
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thepgreeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Ballinderry
4.4 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
213 reviews
3.6 mi away
Down Royal House
Down Royal House
#2 of 2 in Lisburn
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Moira Guest House
Moira Guest House
#1 of 3 in Moira
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballinderry Inn
Ballinderry Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Ballinderry
67 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Vandees Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Cottages

Property: Good Cottages
Address: Leckey Lane, Upper Ballinderry BT28 2AP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Upper Ballinderry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Upper Ballinderry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Good Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four self catering cottages with ensuite bedrooms and fully fitted kitchens centrally located close to M1 Motorway at Junction 9 on the A26 - Near Lisburn and only 20 minutes drive to Belfast City. The airports and ferryports are within easy commutes. FREE WIFI and excellent illuminated car parking. Single occupancy, larger group bookings welcome for nightly or weekly overnight stays. Single occupancy and nightly reservations welcome. Also suitable for larger group bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Good Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Cottages Hotel Lisburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing