We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extended family welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakfield Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Extended family welcome”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This year will be our sixth year at oakfield guest house.weve never looked anywhere else as the service is out of this world.Look forward to August to see everyone again.Anyone looking for accommodation in the glenavy area it's a must .Sandy / Moreen s/w Scotland

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandymoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
40
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I have just had another excellent Christmas in Northern Ireland, with a highlight being the three night stay at the Oakfield Guest House. Where else would you get pineapple, mango, perfect scrambled eggs, excellent porridge and whatever else you could ask for at breakfast. Other guests from France, China and Australia gave the stay a truly international flavour. The attention to detail by Rosaleen, Johnny and Joanne ensures everyone's stay is catered for with nothing ever too much. Thanks again to this superb family run business.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsenham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Oakfield in October 2011. Set in rolling countryside the location is idyllic if you are looking for something quiet. Our room was very comfortable with a well-appointed bathroom. Rosaleen, Johnny and Joanne looked after us extremely well and nothing was too much trouble. Rosaleen was able to give us some superb choices for places to eat locally. The place was very well situated for what we wanted to do (sightseeing and watching a football tournament). It’s just a quick drive from Lough Neagh. Belfast International Airport is just 25 minutes drive away.

Trevor & Graham Steele

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This guest house was adorable as was the proprietor and staff I met. I felt very welcome and looked after during my stay. The room was lovely with exquisite views of the countryside. I was working in Lurgan for 2 days which was around 8 miles away but worth the short drive each day to and from the accommodation. Northern Ireland people and scenery at its best. I would definately return in the future. Best scrambled egg I've tasted in a long time. My best wishes to Rosealeen and Johnny (his art work is worth the visit too).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hi i would like to say how much me and my wife enjoyed our stay at this wonderful b&b, we only stayed 1 night on our way to the ferry after a 1 week long tour of ireland in our classic xk140 jaguar, wonderful people who could not have done more for us, fab hospitality and the best bacon sandwich this side of the black stump, we will be back.also many thanks to jonny the taxi.
john and lez.
Newcastle

Room Tip: The house is spotless, as we only stayed in 1 room i can only sumise the others are of the same high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnxk140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This was my third stay at Oakfield Guest House and I cannot say enough to adequately convey what a wonderful accommodation this is. The rooms are spotless and the location serene and lovely. However, all of this pales in comparison to the great hospitality of the hosts--Johnny and Rosaleen. They are two special people who will do whatever they can to make you feel at home. I have taken large groups of university students there as well as now, my family, and each time have been made to feel welcome (and pampered). If you are looking for a standard, albeit impersonal experience, seek a hotel. If you want to experience what Ireland is most noted for--the warmth and hospitality of its people, book a stay at Oakfield!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenMichigan_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Super clean guest house in quiet countryside.Clean and tidy. Friendly service at all times Ample parking. Great get away or good for business.

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Ballinderry
6.0 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
8.5 mi away
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Aldergrove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antrim M2, JCT.1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Vandees Boutique B & B
3.2 mi away
Caldhame Guest Lodge
Caldhame Guest Lodge
#2 of 4 in Nutts Corner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfield Guest House

Property: Oakfield Guest House
Address: Oakfield Guest House 9 Crumlin Road, Lower Ballinderry BT28 2JU, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Lower Ballinderry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Ballinderry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent family run farm B+B. Extensive gardens and land. All rooms ensuite with guest kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Oakfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing