We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bad Ending”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Bad Ending”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed on a Stay, Park, Fly deal booked through choice hotels. We were very satisfied with our room, the breakfast, and the shuttle service to the airport. We were very disappointed in the shuttle service upon our return. We called for a pick up upon retrieving our checked luggage. We were told the driver was on his way back to the hotel and it would be 30-35 minutes. We were good with that. After waiting 45 minutes the hotel called us to say the driver was stuck in traffic. The driver finally appears after a 1 hour wait. He also had to pick up 2 people to bring to the Super 8. After loading our luggage the driver checks text messages and makes phone call taking up another 5 minutes. He apologizes for the lengthy wait says he had to wait for a train. There were no railroad tracks on the way back to the hotel. One of the 2 women on board asked if he had a busy day? He replied, "no, it's been kind of slow." He drove under the speed limit on the way to the hotel. He dropped the the 2 women off at the Super 8 chit chatting the whole time oblivious to the fact that other people were waiting. He got back in the van and turns around and asks us " Now, where would you folks like to go?" We flew from NYC to O'hare in about the same amount of time as it took us to get from O'hare to Quality Inn in Elk Grove Village. The driver did not leave a favorable impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuck24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    97
    72
    37
    41
See reviews for
83
98
37
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have tried out about a half dozen different park and fly hotels around O'Hare and this was the best one for us. Rooms are clean and quiet with a good bed and shower (but no view). Parking is outside, but seems pretty safe. You park in back of the hotel, if you do the park -fly thing. If you call the hotel directly to make the reservation, you can get 28 days of free parking, if you stay one night at the hotel at the beginning of your trip and also at the end. The web site booking would only let you get 14 days parking whether you stayed one night or two. The staff are great and understand English very well, which is unusual at hotels around O'Hare. They will ask you to reserve a space on their airport shuttle when you check in. This worked great. We had to leave at 5:00 a.m. and return at 2:00 a.m. Because we had told them when the flight returned, the shuttle was waiting for us when we arrived. The last thing that you want to do when you return from a long flight is wait an hour or so for a shuttle and we have done this many times at other hotels. Across the street from the hotel is the best Chinese buffet restaurant that we have ever been to, which is very handy. I wish that the hotel had a pool or hot tub, but it might not have enough rooms to support the added expense. Breakfast is good and is included, but I wish that some of it was available for super early flights. It seems like the hotel is a lot further than four miles away from the airport, but but Quality Inn of Elk Grove is still the best deal. There are about a dozen different hotels near O'hare with very similiar names, so always check the address. We will be staying here again for our future trips out of O'Hare. We were impressed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are closer to your car, if you use the park and fly option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Quality Inn & Suites in Elk Grove for 1 night due to the airport closing and cancelling flights. I must say that I was grateful for their welcoming attitude and being able to accommodate me and many others who were in the same situation. The stress of having to reschedule a flight and not knowing when you will get home can be overbearing. The front desk ladies were so kind and calm and accepted the airline voucher without any hesitation. She offered me a wake-up call, scheduled me for the shuttle to the airport and told me about the free breakfast times. After spending close to 18 hours on a plane and being stuck in an unfamiliar city, it was nice to be taken care of and not have to think about what my next step was.
Although my stay was short, and under a difficult situation, the stay was a welcome respite and beat sleeping in the airport. The room is your typical Quality Inn – kind of dated, but very clean. It was a little chilly upon first entering as the heater is turned off when the room is empty, but the room warmed up quickly once the heating unit was turned on. My wakeup call came at the correct time and breakfast was a treat. There were hot items - eggs, potatoes, sausage, ham and waffles, as well as cold items like bagels and cereal. Coffee is available in the lobby 24/7. Internet access if free and the signal was strong on both my laptop and phone.
Since the hotel is close to the airport, I am not sure how far it is from the city, but if you need to get to the airport early or have a short stay in the Chicago area, this is a fine property to spend a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quilting4Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel believes in good service. My husband and I stayed here before our trip a couple of weeks ago. The rooms are veryclean and inexpensive. The staff is friendly and accommodating with accurate wake up calls, a 24-hour shuttle service to and from the airport, fast and efficient check in and check out. Hotel is quiet, in quiet neighborhood. The only noise are the airplanes, but leave your HVAC unit running and it really does drown out the sound. We left at 3:15 a.m., so too early to check out the breakfast, but coffee always ready. O'Hare is about a 20-25 minute drive from the hotel when traffic is light, so depending on where the driver is when you arrive back at the airport, you could wait 30 minutes or so. I always call just as my husband picks up our bag off baggage claim and by the time we make the trek to the hotel shuttle area, we just have a few minutes to wait. Night driver is so nice, friendly and provides excellent service as well. Cars are safe and parking costs are just added into room rate, so no matter how long you park, the rate is the same.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rednanIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I were very happy with our stay here for our park and fly trip. The hotel was clean and just what we needed for an inexpensive stay right before our trip out of the country. The hotel transportation to O'Hare was quick and friendly and they were right on time when we needed to leave and pick up was a breeze. We didn't get to try the breakfast since we left the hotel before the breakfast was available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed at Quality Inn in Elk Grove Village (5 miles from O'Hare). The hotel was very nice, great room, staff accommodating and courteous. The shuttle was very good as well. One great thing is that the staff all spoke English and we could understand them. The best part is the price for the overnight stay which included up to 2 weeks free parking. We will definately book again with this hotel for our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityElkGrove, Manager at Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Rose,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write your comments. I am so happy to see you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is dedicated to providing the best possible service. I hope we can see you again soon. Please recommend us to your friends and family.

Thank you once again,

Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great hotel for park and fly. Have used this hotel multiple times with no problems, great breakfast would be nice if it started earlier since most people staying here have early flights. Going back in November.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie-WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityElkGrove, Manager at Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Laurie,

Thank you so much for your comments and choosing to stay with us. I am so glad that you have stayed with us many times and we look forward to seeing you once again. We have looked into having an earlier breakfast start time however it is something we have yet to pull the trigger on. We do however offer cold breakfast items earlier before our official breakfast start time.

We look forward to seeing you again this month!

Pratik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Grove Village
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
La Quinta Inn Chicago O'Hare Air...
#8 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
484 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village/O'Hare
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village...
#1 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
#2 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Chicago Elk Grove
Sheraton Suites Chicago Elk Grov...
#6 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites El...
#9 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
326 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western At O'Hare
Best Western At O'Hare
#17 of 18 in Rosemont
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Hotel

Property: Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Hotel
Address: 100 Busse Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007 (Formerly BEST WESTERN O'Hare/Elk Grove Village Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautifully and freshly renovated guest rooms at the Best Western® O’Hare/Elk Grove Hotel have your convenience in mind. Reliable, fast Internet and a complimentary full hot generous breakfast are just a few of the amenities that we offer. We offer Sleep and Fly Packages and 24-hour shuttle service from Chicago O'Hare International Airport (ORD). Call hotel direct for details. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Chicagoland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Elk Grove Village
Quality Inn & Suites Elk Grove Village Hotel Elk Grove Village
Quality Inn Elk Grove Village
Elk Grove Village Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing