We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eww” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Grove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elk Grove Hotel
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eww”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I can't believe United sent me here. This hotel was probably an okay place 30-40 years ago. Sooo outdated. No restaurant. No gift/convenience shop (although there were a few vending machines). The remote for the TV didn't work. The whole hotel was dark, musty, dingy and scary and felt like the owners had given up a long time ago.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nlh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    33
    37
    99
See reviews for
45
47
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our incoming flight to Chicago was delayed, so we missed our connection to London, and United Airlines gave us a voucher for an overnight stay at the Ramada Ohare Elk Grove.
We waited for an hour for the shuttle bus, and eventually had to ask the bell boy at the Hilton to make a call for us to the Ramada. The shuttle bus (a clapped out , bashed up old van ) turned up and took us to the Ramada. What a dull , dreary, worn out, grim place it is.
Though the reception staff were friendly and helpful. it was a miserable stay. The blanket had a burn hole, the alam clock did not work, the carpets felt sticky, and the TV set also felt sticky. Yuck! I resisted the urge to look at the mattress,......!! The bathroom was clean , but in need of refurbishment.
Continental breakfast was OK.......just.
It seemed to be a truck driver stop.
Wifi is only available in the lobby .
The place just needs to be demolished, and United Airlines should be ashamed to offer it.
On the other hand , with a voucher value of 60$ for a hotel within 30 minutes of the airport, maybe you cant expect a lot??
My advice....give this one a miss......

Room Tip: Dont go there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OTG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The owner refuses to turn on heat, we freeze. 58 degrees in room 186. 40 degrees outside!
The place is a sinking ship. Do not stay there. The employees families hang out there. The place is disfunctual.
Only 10 percent of the rooms are usable.
You have been warned!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1112222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I wil never stay at this place again.... i have a whole list of problems... i was left at the airport by the shuttle....Bugs at the breakfast bar.... non smoking rooms burn holes all in sheets and bed... the front desk person was rude.... hotel is dirty.... phone did not work.... old tv's with only a few channels.... WIFI DOES NOT WORK!!! WIFI DOES NOT WORK!!!! and that was a must for me and i did not find out until AFTER i checked in and paid!!! DO NOT COME HERE YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We came here when we first came back from India to Chicago in 2005. The hotel is not good at all and it didn't seem worth the price we paid. I remember being tired after a 30 hour flight only to find out that I couldn't fall asleep there. Avoid if possible.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My son was coming back from Poland and needed 1 night stay, so he could be on the next flight to California, this was the best deal, including breakfast, and a free shuttle from and back to O'hare airport. He got clean room, with clean shower, tv, breakfast included, quiet enviornment... When checking in from August 20,2012 the girl at the front desk gave him better deal then it was booked throught booking.com.... great place for the money, few eateries down the block... thumbs up....

Room Tip: Ask for quiet, clean room etc....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basia124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I booked my hotel on line with Hotwire and only spent $36 a night. I told myself to not expect the Ritz as i was not paying for the Ritz. After finding out what hotel I was staying at and reading the reviews here, I was a bit nervous and expected the worst. We arrived and the tarp was still over the entrance as told in other reviews. We walked in and was greated by the very nice ladies at the check in desk. They told us right up front that the electicity was off because of someone working on another part of the Hotel and if we wanted to cancel they would contact Hotwire and arrange for a refund. Well while we were standing there the lights came on. The hotel is out dated but not the horrible scene somany people discribed. We got the room key and opened to the door to a large room that was clean. The bed was more comfortable than the more expensive hotels I have stayed at. The bath room was clean. There was a blow dryer, coffee maker, and an ironing board and iron. Our room did not smell at all as it was a non-smoking room. The air worked great, so much so I had to turn it down as it got a bit chilly in the room. The room was far from the lobby but there were numerous places to park around with entrances close to every room. I would indeed stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor it is quiet and away from the pool unless you like being near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank want2travel3787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elk Grove Village hotels
1.7 mi away
Motel 6 Elk Grove Village - O'Hare
Motel 6 Elk Grove Village - O'Ha...
#9 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
3.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Village Hotel
Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Vi...
#8 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
3.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites El...
#6 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
3.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village/O'Hare
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village...
#1 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
#3 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
La Quinta Inn Chicago O'Hare Air...
#7 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
3.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Grove Hotel

Property: Elk Grove Hotel
Address: 1600 Oakton St, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-2102 (Formerly Ramada Elk Grove Village/O'Hare Airport)
Location: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elk Grove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Elk Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada o`Hare Hotel Elk Grove Village
Ramada Elk Grove Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing