We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Experience Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Elk Grove Village
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Roseville, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worst Experience Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked a Standard Hotel Room 2 weeks ahead. I confirmed the reservation 1 week ahead of time. I showed up at the hotel on the day of booking. They gave me the room but I ran in to multiple issues:
1. Running Toilet. Front Desk said no one to repair
2. Not a standard room and the room was for "Special Need" People. My confirmation clearly said 1 Standard Non Smoking Room.
3. Room Smelled like chemicals
I asked for a different room but they said nothing is available.
I am 400 miles away from my home, in middle of night and no where else to go. I called booking company and they found me a different hotel where I ended up paying double than the actual amount.
Now the hotel is charging me plenty and is refusing me to refund for 1 out of 2 nights.
I called multiple time and asked for a manager but they said no every time and transferred me to her voice-mail which is full.

Room Tip: Do not trust this hotel and stay away from it. They will screw you up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankush M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Motel 6 Elk Grove Village, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room. After reviewing your reservation, you indeed booked a standard room non smoking which was granted to you upon your arrival. Our maintenance engineer checked on the running toilet and it was repaired. Thank you for letting us know as we are always striving to make our hotel a “home away from home”. We would love the opportunity to have you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    51
    33
    43
See reviews for
51
33
34
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I enjoyed my stay. For the Price, It was very good. I don't understand why others complain about breakfast and atmosphere! you get what you pay for. How much are you expecting to pay for a clean room, complimentary breakfast ( If the supplies are low or out because you arrive right before the time is up, then ask for some more or be quiet) friendly staff, clean sheets, towels , shampoo ,,,,,,,,??!!!
I will stay here on my next visit and recommend it to my savvvy friends

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Motel 6 Elk Grove Village, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Well I have to say, I enjoyed reading your review! Thank you for taking the time to write one, we know your time is valuable. We are delighted to hear that we are a great value; we strive to be the “best Value under the Sun”. For you to recommend us to your savvy friends means the world to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Shannon Esposito, the GM, is worthless, in my opinion.
It all starts at the top, and with a leader like her, they won't last long.
I'm not sure when, in the travelers dictionary,
continental breakfast meant 'crappy & preprocessed box food available until
it runs out', but that seems to be the case here.
The key cards work intermittently, just like the wi fi. find another hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yepper6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Motel 6 Elk Grove Village, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we value all opinions and take them very seriously. Our complementary breakfast offers a variety of fresh bagels, waffles and assorted fresh breads. For guest who would like to relax, we offer hot oatmeal, cereal and fresh fruit. We are always making improvements and would be delighted have you come back and for a more rewarding experience that I’m sure we can provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Elk Grove Village hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked a room in this hotel for one night, and asked for a non-smoking one. When I came in the evening, a woman at the front desk gave us keys, and my wife went directly there. She came back while I was still at the front desk only to tell that the room had a terrible smoking smell. My wife couldn't even stay there, she has asthma and is allergic to smoke.

I asked the front desk girl what was going on. She responded that she knew that it is a smoking room, but she does not have any non-smoking room at the moment. She stated that since our reservation says only "prefered non-smoking", she may give us any room she wants.
I asked her why she did not call us beforehand about it, and she blantly refused to answer.

Finally, I asked the girl at the front desk to cancel the reservation, but she refused to do it, and said that I have to talk to the manager next day.

I had to give up the room and leave.

I called the manager next day only to learn that she is not going to reimburse me anything.

To sum it up, I was left without a room in the middle of the night and had to find another hotel. The Days Inn refused to give me a nonsmoking room I asked but took the money for the room I did not use. I cannot call it anything, but a fraud.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel. If you must stay here, call it before you come to check that they will give you ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rostyslav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon E, General Manager at Motel 6 Elk Grove Village, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We go to great lengths to make sure that our guests are comfortable. You sure did get a great rate on booking.com and we appreciate your business. When you book through a third party, you may choose your room type and you may ask for non smoking if available. When you checked in we no longer had non smoking available. I suggest calling the hotel directly and booking your room so your guaranteed the non smoking room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Grove Village
4.6 mi away
Motel 6 Elk Grove Village - O'Hare
Motel 6 Elk Grove Village - O'Ha...
#10 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago - O'Hare Airport
Red Roof Inn Chicago - O'Hare Ai...
#6 of 10 in Arlington Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Elk Grove Village O'Hare
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites El...
#9 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Elk Grove Village
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#3 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Itasca
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
#2 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Elk Grove Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Elk Grove Village

Property: Motel 6 Elk Grove Village
Address: 1000 W Devon Ave, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-7226 (Formerly Days Inn)
Location: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Elk Grove Village 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 1 mile of Alexian Brothers Medical Center, a half block from Belvedere Banquet Hall, and 3 miles from Woodfield Mall, the Days Inn Schaumburg / Elk Grove is centrally located for all of your needs. We are pleased to provide our guests exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for business or leisure, you can enjoy our 24 hour on site fitness room, free high speed wireless internet, and our 24 hour business center. After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day our complimentary Daybreak breakfast. To make your stay even more rewarding, please join Wyndham Rewards, our guest loyalty program. We have several restaurants nearby including Charlie's Char House, Sunnyside Up Pancake House, Real Time Sports Bar, Panera Bread and Pizza Hut. Within a ten mile radius of the hotel, you are no more than 20 minutes from the Arlington Park Race Track, Schaumburg Convention Center, Medieval Times, and Legoland. The hotel is a convenient drive to Downtown Chicago, Donald E Stephens Convention Center and Wrigley Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Motel-6, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Elk Grove Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Schaumburg / Elk Grove Village Hotel Elk Grove Village
Days Inn Elk Grove Village
Elk Grove Village Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing