We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better, could be worse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Certificate of Excellence
South Dakota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Could be better, could be worse”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Spent two nights in October using point breaks (yay!).

Pro's: Internet was simple, fast. Bathroom had been updated. Micro/fridge in room. Ice down the hall. Front desk clerks were very cordial. Close to O'Hare (with the occasional plane overhead - not a bother at all). Easy drives to Woodfield Mall-Schaumburg and Elmhurst. Restaurant attached featured a decent menu and prices (we did not dine there, though). Enough cable channels. Wood furniture in good condition. Pool area looked inviting (we did not take advantage of that). Parking near entrances available. Keycards required for entrance. Room and public areas were clean.

Con's (to varying degrees): Odd location. Room overlooked trucking lot. Walls a bit thin (could hear folks next door laughing after midnight - we just turned up the radio). Hallways somewhat dreary. Room attendants rather blank. Pillows waaaaay small. Bed very soft with sinkhole in the middle. Upholstered furniture and carpeting showed some wear. Heat unit in wall made noise and clicked on then off abruptly. No breakfast (I know, it's a HI, not a HIX!). Only one soap bar provided. Hair dryer stopped in mid-dry; had to fiddle with it to get it functioning again. One of our keycards did not work.

Overall: Primarily due to cleanliness and proximity to our desired locales, and the fact that we only utilized the hotel to sleep, we'd stay again, but only on point breaks or a very reduced price. I'd only recommend it to a friend who was also just using it for sleep and proximity.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goseedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    99
    59
    19
    14
See reviews for
61
39
18
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed here with Priority Club points. Not a bad hotel, but very basic. A/C unit a bit noisy, but manageable. Was there for a conference and staff were very helpful - no glitches - which is saying a lot when 500 people attend. On the "wrong" side of ORD (west side), but still not tough to get to. Just make sure you have a GPS. Easy access to Western Suburbs of Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonBaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okemos, mi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The only thing I could see as a negative is the complimentary shuttle. Although I only waited at O'Hare for about 20 or 30 minutes, some guy waited almost an hour and a half. Then I noticed the Super 8 hotel shuttle driver was so nice and helpful to people waiting for their shuttles but when someone asked the Holiday Inn Elk Grove driver a question he pretty much bit their head off. When I went to depart the hotel to go back to the airport I arrived ten minutes before the hour and never saw the shuttle. Finally found out it supposedly had already left however I was right in the lobby and never even saw it. DIdn't become a problem because the staff got a cab for me at their expense. Otherwise the rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. The wi-fi is free in addition.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajolivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed one night before heading out on an 7am flight from Chicago O'hare Airport. We got the room for $50 on priceline. Our Room 443 was clean in appearance but we had a few issues. When we got to our room we realized the phone didn't work, no dialtone anything. Scratched my leg on the plastic corner that was half hanging off the boxspring with staple on the carpet. Complained to the frontdesk about the phone not working but they didn't do anything. They just said, we'll turn it on. Called again because we needed a 330am morning call and we didn't have a working phone. The frontdesk said they would send someone up but the did not. By this time it was 11pm and we had to get some sleep so we just used the alarm on our watch. I got into bed and the sheets smelled like men's cologne..it gave me the feeling that the sheets had not been changed! It was too late to complain and change rooms because of the time so went to sleep I tried not to think about it. Woke up in the morning with 3 bites, one on my leg and two on the back of my neck. Not impressed...could have been better.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimimorang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Elk Grove for a seminar week-end. The hotel is located in a small industrial area not far from O'Hare but unless you were sitting out front the noise from air traffic is negligible. The hotel itself was very clean with comfy beds and bed linens. There was an indoor swimming pool, small courtyard, wi-fi, and an attached restaurant and bar. One caveat of the hotel is its shuttle service to/from the airport. The shuttle will also, time permitting, give you a lift to the Woodfield Mall - a wonderful place to shop. If you want to go into Chicago, the shuttle will drop you off at the airport in order to catch the train (45 min train ride so plan on that for catching the shuttle back to the hotel - @ 25 past the hour until 11pm) - $5.00 for a return ticket with two transfers.
I think the biggest plus of this hotel was its front desk employees. They were always smiling, pleasant, and -willing to help with any requests or problems.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Miffdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We happened upon this hotel by means of a Hotwire reservation. While the common areas are a little meager and the carpet looks worn in some places, the rooms were great. We had a King size bed which was super soft and cozy, a large flat screen TV, coffee maker and refrigerator, as well as FREE wi-fi (which was fast and dependable; I even could download songs from iTunes with no problems).

The hotel isn't in the most scenic places of Chicago -- it's definitely an airport hotel. But there's a free shuttle to O'Hare that leaves every hour on the hour (the ride took us about 20 minutes to get there). I can't speak for the parking, breakfast, indoor pool and whirlpool or fitness center as we didn't take advantage of those.

Another major plus of the place is the fact that it's attached to an Old Chicago pizza place. It was very convenient (especially since we didn't have a car) to literally walk downstairs and through the lobby to this restaurant. FYI - they have GREAT nightly drink specials and decent food that we were sure to take advantage of.

All in all a good hotel if you are in need of a place to rest before a big flight. Decently priced, good amenities, clean and secure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peshtigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

An odd location, but near enough to O Hare to be close but far enough away to feel like you are not in the airport. Good well priced hotel, with parking and shuttle service. Staff were very friendly. We had 2 family rooms on the ground floor, good facilities, free wifi, useful indoor pool and a short drive from most amenities. It does feel like you are in an industrial park though. The nearest shops or restaurants were a few miles drive away. Mostly quiet although planes do fly over when taking off... I would say that it's a good airport hotel far enough from the airport to not have the airport feeling.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N9eav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Grove Village
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village/O'Hare
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village...
#1 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Hotel
Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Ho...
#7 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
La Quinta Inn Chicago O'Hare Air...
#8 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Chicago Elk Grove
Sheraton Suites Chicago Elk Grov...
#6 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
117 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Elk Grove Village
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#3 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
329 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
Address: 1000 Busse Rd, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-2495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Elk Grove Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village, Illinois. We are minutes away from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) in the heart of the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago. Our award winning associates are ready to ensure your stay with us is a success. We offer shuttle service to and from O Hare (6:00am to 10:30pm) for only $5.00 per person/per trip, as well as complimentary transportation within a 5 mile radius of the hotel (including Woodfield Shopping Center). We also within walking distance to easy public transportation to Downtown Chicago. Our friendly staff and clean rooms offer efficient work space complimented by free ultra fast high-speed wireless Internet. Our dining options include a visit to Shelby Campbell's restaurant attached to the hotel featuring our new full menu. Known for local favorites like our chili, pizza, and newly added lobster mac N cheese, Shelby Campbell's still offers the famous Shelby Steak and pork chop, and is also available for room service. We look forward to you checking in with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove Hotel Elk Grove Village
Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village
Elk Grove Village Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing