We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great airport hotel with restaurant attached” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Certificate of Excellence
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel with restaurant attached”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

We happened upon this hotel by means of a Hotwire reservation. While the common areas are a little meager and the carpet looks worn in some places, the rooms were great. We had a King size bed which was super soft and cozy, a large flat screen TV, coffee maker and refrigerator, as well as FREE wi-fi (which was fast and dependable; I even could download songs from iTunes with no problems).

The hotel isn't in the most scenic places of Chicago -- it's definitely an airport hotel. But there's a free shuttle to O'Hare that leaves every hour on the hour (the ride took us about 20 minutes to get there). I can't speak for the parking, breakfast, indoor pool and whirlpool or fitness center as we didn't take advantage of those.

Another major plus of the place is the fact that it's attached to an Old Chicago pizza place. It was very convenient (especially since we didn't have a car) to literally walk downstairs and through the lobby to this restaurant. FYI - they have GREAT nightly drink specials and decent food that we were sure to take advantage of.

All in all a good hotel if you are in need of a place to rest before a big flight. Decently priced, good amenities, clean and secure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peshtigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    92
    56
    18
    14
See reviews for
56
35
16
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

An odd location, but near enough to O Hare to be close but far enough away to feel like you are not in the airport. Good well priced hotel, with parking and shuttle service. Staff were very friendly. We had 2 family rooms on the ground floor, good facilities, free wifi, useful indoor pool and a short drive from most amenities. It does feel like you are in an industrial park though. The nearest shops or restaurants were a few miles drive away. Mostly quiet although planes do fly over when taking off... I would say that it's a good airport hotel far enough from the airport to not have the airport feeling.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N9eav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford,AZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights, attending a wedding nearby. The room was just as I
asked for. Hotel check in was pleasant and efficient. Manager on duty was business orientated and easy to deal with. Breakfast was cooked to order for a fee, but reasonable
and very good. Staff was nice and easy to deal with. Some being trained, but also efficient. The Old Chicago restaurant, adjacent, had good food, but the waitress talked too much about her personal life. The 2nd encounter was not so pleasant, and we
ended up reporting the poor service of the kitchen to the manager. 45 minutes for a plate
of nachos? I don't think so! Otherwise, it was a great experience. Good for families.
Nice pool and hot tub. We did use the exercise room, also.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azsmittys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

I like this hotel.
When travelling for business, I used to stay opposite at the Jameson Suites.
Now that I've tried the Holiday Inn :
Rooms are huge - Jameson are tired.
Breakfast buffet is limited but enough to set you up for the day.
Friendly reception staff.
Great shuttle service - dropped me and picked me up at my convenience.

When in the area again, this will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalGrecoLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

Absolutely loved this little hotel. It's in an 'out of the way' location, but easy to find from the expressway, and we didn't need to leave the site. The restaurant was incredible, rooms were clean and spacious, staff was friendly. We were very impressed!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fyfe313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

The hotel was beautiful. Great rooms, etc. We got to see this after waiting for the free shuttle for three hours at which point we were told to get a cab. We also got to witness the person behind the desk berate the cab driver for no reason! Our towls had strange spots on them, and our floor was damp during our hole stay. Never Judge a book by its cover or price. There was a reason it was cheap, I think that reason was the awful customer service.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hote36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

Was looking for a inexpensive hotel to spend 1 night. I found a perfect place in the Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village. Located in an industrial park type area by O'Hare airport. We found it to be quieter than other places near O'Hare. The runways are parallel to the hotel and a few miles away. Stay on the bottom floor as it helps block any overhead noise. The room was spotless and the staff was very friendly and helpful (Well Done!!). Wouldn't be the greatest place to stay if you didn't have a car and wanted to explore the nearby area. If you have a car of want to use public transport or a taxi it would be just fine. We stayed on a Friday night and paid $49 through Hotwire.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEMplsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Grove Village
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
5.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport
5.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago O'Hare
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village/O'Hare
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village...
#1 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Chicago O'Hare
Courtyard Chicago O'Hare
#3 of 9 in Des Plaines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
Address: 1000 Busse Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Elk Grove Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village, Illinois. We are minutes away from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) in the heart of the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago. Our award winning associates are ready to ensure your stay with us is a success. We offer shuttle service to and from O Hare (6:00am to 10:30pm) for only $5.00 per person/per trip, as well as complimentary transportation within a 5 mile radius of the hotel (including Woodfield Shopping Center). We also within walking distance to easy public transportation to Downtown Chicago. Our friendly staff and clean rooms offer efficient work space complimented by free ultra fast high-speed wireless Internet. Our dining options include a visit to Shelby Campbell's restaurant attached to the hotel featuring our new full menu. Known for local favorites like our chili, pizza, and newly added lobster mac N cheese, Shelby Campbell's still offers the famous Shelby Steak and pork chop, and is also available for room service. We look forward to you checking in with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove Hotel Elk Grove Village
Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village
Elk Grove Village Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing