We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Years in a Row”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've organized a frequent flyers conference that has sold out the hotel for a weekend the last three years. This is a very savvy group of frugal travelers. We keep coming back for three reasons:

Clean and well maintained property. This is not a five star hotel, but a good solid 3+ star property.

Value: My travel dollar is well spent at the Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village.


Great service and one of the most friendly hotel staffs I've ever met anywhere in the world. They genuinely care for their guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingy104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we are thrilled to see that you had another successful event. We know that your guests are seasoned travelers, and we are proud to see that our staff did such a great job serving them. Thank you again for sharing your feedback, it was a pleasure, and honor to host your group. We are looking very forward to having you return next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 402 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Was in town for the Ryder Cup and had a great stay. Rooms were nice and clean with all the amenitites needed. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Chicago area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your post! We're glad that we could make Ryder Cup a great experience for so many guests! Please keep us in mind for your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during Ryder Cup week. Hotel is situated about 20 minutes from O'Hare and there is a regular free shuttle (website says it costs $5 but no payment was requested). Its a standard Holiday Inn layout but no Executive rooms or lounge as far a I could tell. Rooms are comfortably sized, neither too big or too small, spotlessly clean and equipped with cable TV, tea/coffee facilities and a microwave (the lobby sells a collection of food items). As its slightly more distant from the airport, planes flying over were infrequent and not noisy and the King bed was very comfortable, which made for a good nights sleep.

The food and drink, including breakfast, is provided by Shelby Campbells (Almost Famous), which a typical American sports bar with twenty or more monitors showing live sports as well as live entertainment in the bar at the weekend (though there is a quiet area). The menu offers an attractive mix of light and full meals, with more than enough choice to satisfy anyone staying for a whole week, as well as more than 30 draft beers (including many European and premium ones) plus a $3 drinks promotion on some nights.

The hotel and restaurant offer excellent value for the price paid, Its way better in every respect than the much more expensive Four Points Chicago O'Hare I stayed at over the summer. However, what makes this place really stand out is the staff. The reception staff, the shuttle staff (who transported golf fans to Medinah each day in the middle of the night to arrive for the early tee-times) and Shelby's staff who provided great service all week (especially Stephanie) all went out of their way to help with every request. Nothing was too much trouble. I pass through O'Hare occasionally and I won't even bother to look for any other local hotel in future. Thanks to Jeff and your staff for making the week very special.

Room Tip: I had a King Room and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

What a nice, thorough review or our property, thank you! We are thrilled to see the positive comments from the Ryder Cup event and appreciate you recognizing some of our staff members. Please know that your review will be shared with all to celebrate! Thank you again, please keep us in mind for your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend when we came to Chicago for the Ryder Cup.The staff was friendly and helpful. We drove 7 hours to the hotel and were thrilled to be offered shuttle service to the event. I am originally from the Chicago area and met a friend at the hotel restaurant for dinner. The food was exceptional especially the mac - n- cheese with bacon, sausage, & ham. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My kids enjoyed the pool and I enjoyed the workout area. It was very clean and the property was well kept. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us! We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, and the Mac N Cheese is quickly becoming a local favorite! We hope to see you back with us again on your next trip back "home"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week during the Ryder Cup where we were volunteers. The room was satisfactory and housekeeping did a great job, we used the exercise equipment and the indoor pool. The staff was friendly and efficient in accommodating our needs, including shuttle service to O'Hare and the Ryder Cup shuttles. I am very pleased with our stay and would not hesitate in returning to the Holiday Inn Elk Grove.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bobster63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Excellent! We're so happy to see the great feedback from the Ryder Cup event! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about our staff, we all look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We just returned from the Ryder Cup in Chicago. (Sad, the U.S. lost) We stayed at the Holiday Inn - Elk Grove for 4 nights. Their courtesy van picked us up at O'Hare right on time and took us to the hotel - only about a 15-minute trip. The hotel is smallish (135 rooms?), but the personnel were so friendly and literally everyone went out of their way to help us in any way they could. Each morning at 6am, they shuttled us over to Medinah country club, so we didn't need a car at all; then, at day's end, they brought us back! Our room had a great King-size bed, chaise lounge, flatscreen TV, refrigerator and coffeemaker. The bathroom was fine. My only disappointment was that they don't provide conditioner - just shampoo. When I asked the manager if they had any, he said no, they had to make a choice between conditioner or body lotion and decided on body lotion. Really?? Are you listening, Holiday Inn Corporate? Would it kill you to provide a 1-ounce bottle of conditioner with your shampoo? Anyhow, the manager was very apologetic. The hotel has a great breakfast area with very reasonably priced food, and an amazing restaurant onsite called Shelby Campbell's. It has a huge sports bar and dining area and it seemed that everyone went there for drinks, food and camaraderie. The menu was varied, with really good dinner salads and entrees, and the drinks were amazing! We really didn't have to leave the property at all, but did go into Chicago to see family by having the shuttle take us over to O'Hare and we just caught the Blue Line to downtown (about 40 minutes) for $2.25 each! I really can't say enough about the wonderful staff at this hotel. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were very close to O'Hare but didn't hear a thing. Our room was by the parking lot, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnywesthartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Wow, thank you for such a prompt response just days after your stay, we appreciate your comments! The Ryder Cup certainly kept our hotel busy, and I am glad that we were able to make a great impression! Please know that I will pass your comments on to our restaurant staff as well! We're glad we were able to be your "one stop shop", and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was the first hotel in a very long time in which I have stayed for an extended period, and had no microwave of frig, so when I ate out I couldn't bring anything back to the room, be it food or beverage, cause there was no place to keep it cold; the lighting in the parking lot was sub standard, a safety issue, and the property needs a fresh coat of paint, and something to get rid of the moldy smell...and can someone please tell me why the gardeners came sooo early in the morning to service the lawn, noon would have been better...

Room Tip: Don't chooses a property in the path of a busy airport, the planes flew all night, and ask more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffery187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. I am sorry that your room did not come with a refrigerator. I retreived your reservation and I see that it was made using an Entertainment discount card, this special offer is for a standard room only. Please know that we do offer executive king rooms, that do include microwaves and refrigerators, however they are not available with this particular discount.

Our landscaping contract states a start time at 9am every Monday morning, I will certainly look into the possiblity of them arriving earlier than this the morning you checked out however, this is the first comment I have ever received concerning them disturbing anyone.

Thank you again for your comments, I am sorry to see that we didn't meet your expectations. Feel free to contact me directly with any further comments or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elk Grove Village hotels
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Chicago Elk Grove
Sheraton Suites Chicago Elk Grov...
#7 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
151 reviews
1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village/O'Hare
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village...
#2 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
400 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Chicago O'Hare Airport
La Quinta Inn Chicago O'Hare Air...
#9 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Elk Grove Village/Itasca
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#4 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
355 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Hotel
Best Western O'Hare/Elk Grove Ho...
#5 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
362 reviews
3.5 mi away
Motel 6 Elk Grove Village
Motel 6 Elk Grove Village
#10 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove

Address: 1000 Busse Rd, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007-2495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Elk Grove Village
Price Range: $93 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village, Illinois. We are minutes away from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) in the heart of the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago. Our award winning associates are ready to ensure your stay with us is a success. We offer shuttle service to and from O Hare (6:00am to 10:30pm) for only $5.00 per person/per trip, as well as complimentary transportation within a 5 mile radius of the hotel (including Woodfield Shopping Center). We also within walking distance to easy public transportation to Downtown Chicago. Our friendly staff and clean rooms offer efficient work space complimented by free ultra fast high-speed wireless Internet. Our dining options include a visit to Shelby Campbell's restaurant attached to the hotel featuring our new full menu. Known for local favorites like our chili, pizza, and newly added lobster mac N cheese, Shelby Campbell's still offers the famous Shelby Steak and pork chop, and is also available for room service. We look forward to you checking in with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove Hotel Elk Grove Village
Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village
Elk Grove Village Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing