We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Rose Inn B&B
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Harrisburg)
$89
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Eddyville(Eddyville)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regency Inn(Eddyville)(Great Value!)
$89
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Kuttawa(Kuttawa)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patti's Inn & Suites(Grand Rivers)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
21
4
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
4
0
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 26 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had the Rose Room at this lovely B & B. This room has a door into the garden where you can sit in the shade or in the sun and watch ships passing slowly on the mighty Ohio River. Great! There is also a swimming pool and a hot tub in the large garden. The room was very nice, the Quen bed average. Bruce gave us a warm welcome. We had bad luck, there was no breakfast because his wife Sue (Bruce cannot cook) had to go to her family for an urgent matter. We got a rebate on the room rate and had a good breakfast in a new restaurant, 2 min. walk. The E-Restaurant on a boat at the quai was very nice because of this unique location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frans P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We usually don't stay in B&B's, lodging is very limited in the Cave-in-Rock, IL area so chose the River Rose because of the location on the Ohio River and stayed 7-16-2012. Sue and Rosie (cute little dog) greeted us, made us feel like we were family and even let us put our Harley in the garage overnight. It's a wonderful historic house, very clean with lots of updates. We chose the Rose Room because it was on ground floor with private entrance (opened to small patio sitting area and close to pool and hot tub) and views of the river. We enjoyed dinner at the E-Town Restaurant with family, then sit on the patio under a large Magnolia tree (was told oldest in IL) for a night cap watching the peaceful flow of the river. Sue suggested we open the windows for the gentle breeze, but temperatures were in the high '90's so wanted the AC. Breakfast the next morning was served on dishes that seemed like they came from my grandmother's china cabinet, mixed fruit, breakfast casserole, bacon and 3 pieces of french bread toast to sample the 3 kinds of home-made jam. Sue and Bruce are super hosts and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrayMare42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were doing volunteer work in the National Forest and happened to find this WONDERFUL B-n-B. EXCELLENT food, wonderful hospitality, and Sue and Bruce made our stay easy as our hours were "strange" due to the work in the forest. We look forward to staying there again when we will be able to relax and enjoy the property and tour the area!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage because we were filthy and didn't want to tramp through the house. Although this is one OLD home, Sue keeps it clean!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SicilianAuntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Southern Illinois may not be on many people's radar, yet this is a rather unique region, where Eastern & Western, Northern & Southern meet in a unique confluence of natural & climatic way. The River Rose Inn, a Bed & Breakfast in Elizabethtown (pop. 350) is a stately, turn-of-the-20th-century mansion with attentive and friendly owners, lovely rooms with whirlpool baths, tasteful furnishings, and a lovely view upon the Ohio River flowing stately just a few feet away.
Moreover, the food is incredibly good. Sue will cook not only fantastic breakfasts with a touch of class (Scotch Eggs, anyone?) and always fresh fruit, but also (if requested in advance) a four-course dinners that will fill your belly and make you wish for more.
Oh, and there is also a hot tub outside with view of the sunset beyond the river, and a pool in season. And a very friendly little doggy.
Sue & Bruce are ready to welcome you... and you can BYOB for dinners!
A winner in all categories: hospitality, comfort, location, amenities, food, and... friendship. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Scarlet Room, which has a private balcony (large enough to do morning yoga) with a gorgeous view of the river. We visited other rooms as well, they all seem lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the last 2 nights. We had the River Rose Inn and the hotel across the street booked for a family reunion. Everyone was more than happy. Sue, Bruce, Uncle Ralph and Aunt Sharon were wonderful. Hopefully we'll be back! Loved it!

Room Tip: The Magnolia Cottage outback is very private!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kymom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews