We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to stay at Rim Rocks Dogwood Cabins!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabethtown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Texas
1 review
“You've got to stay at Rim Rocks Dogwood Cabins!!!!!”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This place is heavenly. Forget your appointment with your therapist, book some time at Rim Rocks Dogwood Cabins. When ever I stay here (which is every year) I feel so relaxed and ready to take on the world (or at least my job back home). Dixie is the consummate host and everything is taken care of in the cabins. The atmosphere is indescribable. Your soul will be rejuvenated, your attitude will be adjusted and your mood will be serene. There are so many places to see and so much to do within a short drive from the cabins. Each cabin has a book with any information you would ever want about the “happenings” in that area. Dixie has thought of everything and I mean everything! Put Rim Rocks Dogwood Cabins on your “bucket” list; but don’t wait too long because you will want to come back year after year like I do.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank setinsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marengo, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We spent 4 days at Rim Rocks Dogwood cabins. The cabin was neat and claen, had all the things it said would be in the cabin. Just take you food and you are good to go. Bob and Dixie are good inn keepers, friendly and more than happy to help you any any way you need. It was a restful and very relaxing time. The area has plenty to do and plenty to see. We go back every year.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scots02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawneetown, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Our family has stayed at these cabins for the last several years and really look forward to the fall season so we can return. No phone but their are distractions (TV) for your children so you can enjoy the outdoors in peace. Bob and Dixie provide firewood for that cool night campfire and visits from the local wildlife are not uncommon. Don't worry, I'm talking primarily deer and turkeys. If you enjoy the scenic hike experience look no further. Directly across the road is Rim Rock which connects via forest trails to Pounds Hollow. Cannot say enough good things about this stay. This has turned into our home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dms98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

The Dart's have thought of everything to make their guests comfortable. The cabins are well-appointed and very well taken care of. It's like home away from home, except you are in the midst of incredible scenery. If you're used to big city lights, step outside and count the stars, because you can see every last one of them. You just can't do that in the city.

You can't beat the location either--right at the entrance to Rim Rock Park. It's a very quiet, peaceful location. The resident menagerie of animals are real characters--horses, goats, guinea hens, cats and dogs. This was my second time, and I can't wait to go back.

If you're looking to get back to nature, this is the place.

Oh, and if you're lacking for something to do, there's even a book in the cabin that tells you about all the places of interest and things you can do in the area. Bring your hiking boots or your bikes.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glasshut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
17.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Harrisburg
37 reviews
19.7 mi away
Riverview Mansion Hotel
Riverview Mansion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Golconda
24 reviews
17.0 mi away
Super 8 Harrisburg
Super 8 Harrisburg
#3 of 3 in Harrisburg
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
River Rose Inn B&B
River Rose Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Elizabethtown
26 reviews
4.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins
#1 of 3 in Elizabethtown
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins

Property: Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins
Address: Box 124 RR 2, Elizabethtown, IL 62931
Location: United States > Illinois > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five beautiful pet friendly Southern Illinois Shawnee Forest cabins near Garden of the Gods. These Southern Illinois cabins are all sizes and include full kitchens and all essentials, linens, coffee pot, electric fire place, outside fire pit including wood, outside grills (gas and charcoal), full bath with shower, heat and air, screened in porch, satellite TV and wifi. Eagle's Retreat and Deer Run have two bathrooms. Our Garden of the Gods cabins are located in the Shawnee National Forest adjacent to Rim Rock Hiking Trail. Our Shawnee Forest cabins are near Garden of the Gods and Pounds Hollow Lake. These Illinois cabins are near Cave in Rock State Park, Saline County Wildlife area, Glen O Jones Lake, Ohio River, Kentucky Amish Country, Bell Smith Springs and much more. Southern Illinois cabins are pet friendly and have various animals here on our property. We have a private 1.6 Mile hiking trail around our 77 acres and Rim Rock hiking trail is right across the road from the cabins. Hike without ever getting into your car. We are only 1/3 mile from River to River Trail. We are on the American Discovery Trail, the Ohio River Scenic Byway and the Shawnee Scenic Byway. Our Southern Illinois Cabins are in a very private setting on 77 acres surrounded by the Shawnee National Forest. All cabins have large water heaters and either queen beds or comfortable queen sofa loungers as well. We have various animals on our property for our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing