We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holy Mackerel

Holy Mackerel
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Elizabeth
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Arlington heightts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

What a terrific meal! Do not miss this restaurant! Food was great. Service was great. I loved that we were in a old church. Just an all around great meal!

Helpful?
Thank Attymom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A quaint and consistent favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is one of our favorite local restaurants, when we want an evening out. We like the quaint, cozy restored-church, low-key ambience; and even though they have tablecloths and cloth napkins, you can feel comfortable in either casual or dress attire. Their menu is relatively small and changes infrequently, or they occasionally offer a feature item, but they have offerings in pretty much every category. We have our favorites, like the chicken roll with pine nuts and grilled salmon with olive relish. Prices range from moderate to slightly higher, depending on choice. Entrees are unique enough without being too extravagant, tasty, prepared well, and presented nicely. Acoustics can be a bit noisy because of the open area and wood floors, if there are too many boisterous diners, but usually it's at an acceptable level or relatively quiet. If you appreciate antiques, restored buildings, or just good, consistent food at prices that won't break the bank, you will like Holy Mackerel!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tootles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Read about this place on tripadvisor, it did not disappoint! Everything was delicious, bread was home made, could not stop eating. They do not have a kids menu which is fine as my kids have a diverse palette . Anything you order will be yummy. Prices too are reasonable considering the portion size, but we are use to chicago dining prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I've reviewed this restaurant before and have eaten there 4 times since. I am not a soup fan and usually pass, but don't pass on the soups here! They are the best I've had! Had a cold cucumber soup in the summer that was outstanding and recently had a creamy salmon that was to die for! The food is consistently excellent, although my veggie serving could have been larger. Minutes away from Galena.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redkayak2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than any restaurant in Galena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Start with the soup, they are all amazing! The steaks melt in your mouth and the seafood entrees are great as well. Very unique former church located in a cool village just minutes East of Galena.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Mackerel also viewed

 
Elizabeth, IL
 

Been to Holy Mackerel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing