We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Trip”
Review of Welcome Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Welcome Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Elizabeth
Cuisines: American, European
Restaurant details
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
283 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Road Trip”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I live about 45 min. away and a group from work wanted to go out to eat but somewhere we had never been before. This was one great little place that we all had a great time and great food. Loved the salad bar and the drinks

Helpful?
Thank Kev521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camaiore, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A classic of Elizabeth”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

As a former resident of the area I have had various chances to eat at the Welcome in. It has passed management a few different times, but unlike most restaurants, this hasn't changed the main menu.
Over all, it is the best eatery in town by far. Last time I was there, it was the only completely family-friendly restaurant, giving it a distinct advatage.
As a family restaraunt, stop for tourists in the area, or as a casual dinner out I definitely recommend it. The price point is affordable and the food/service has a homely, small town vibe to it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ggmusicista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming just like it says”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Loved this place! Everyone is so friendly. You feel like you are part of the family. The food was good and they were more than willing to offer a different side of your choice. I ordered the pork chop and not only did I have cottage cheese with it (my choice), I also was able to have soup and salad from the salad bar. The owner blended in with the other servers.She was helping them out and working just as hard. Great place to relax. Loved it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Flintstones50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you need a big meal this is the venue. Soup Salad Desserts and Large portions as well as good beer. They make you very "Welcome".

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank eabgj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went at an off-time, they were short-staffed, and still served a fantastic and memorable meal! Our waitress was incredibly nice, and the food was absolutely delicious. We would absolutely go back - especially for the homemade rice pudding!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank gsbchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welcome Inn also viewed

 

Been to Welcome Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing