We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful "mom-and-pop" style experience.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elizabeth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marcotte's Family Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Mississippi
1 review
“Delightful "mom-and-pop" style experience.”
Reviewed September 19, 2009

I lucked into this delightful mom-and-pop style motel at dusk on a Saturday evening. It was a pleasant departure from the chain-motel travel experience. My room was charming, very clean, and had windows that open to allow cool evening air and soothing night sounds. The view over the lush, rolling hills was lovely. A carafe of coffee with a warm muffin was delivered to my room in the morning. AND, my sweet well-mannered dog was welcomed as warmly as I was.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithDoggieToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
24
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Two of us stayed overnight in Marcotte's Family Motel in Elizabeth, Illinois, and found an unexpected treasure! We had a lovely room with huge king bed, additional daybed, table and chairs, refrigerator and microwave, and large spotlessly clean bathroom with full bath and shower. Decorated in white and pastel colors, with many open-able windows, it was inviting and serene. We enjoyed sitting outside in comfortable chairs, both on the deck and on the grass below, and watched the sunset over the beautiful rolling hills of Jo Daviess County. Later we gazed at the bright stars--a treat for city folks. All of this for a most reasonable price, and near to but well outside the "tourist crunch" of Galena. The owner, Donna, was so friendly and helpful that she even lent us her season pass to go swimming at a nearby lake--plus maps of how to find it! Doing so was extra special on a hot summer day.

Don't pass up this motel! It is a real gem. I hope to return to it again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Found this accomodation just a day before we decided to leave for Galena. Rooms very clean and comfortable. I was impressed that he bathroom didn't fog up during a nice warm shower! The special attention Donna paid to our little one was extraordinary . The campfire with marshmallows and.Without a doubt I'd plan to go here again - only for more than one night - A great place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaycationKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crystal lake, il
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2009

clean, family friendly, economical, quiet, great location all lead to a perfect night's sleep while in the Galena Territory area. Perfect place to call home base for your shopping or golfing get a way weekend or week. Donna makes you feel like you are staying with family and not at some motel on the beaten path and we make it a point to stay with her while in the Territories..........

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stokedvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

A true old fashioned mom and pop motel. Clean, charming, friendly. What one hopes to find, but rarely does. And the coffee and muffin waiting outside the door was a wonderful amenity.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quaintvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2009

we made the trip from,mountain view,mo and what a fine place to stay
very affordable and clean.
and the morning coffee and muffens was a great way to get going.
if we make it back up to elizabeth I will be calling thanks again.
the lancasters

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2009

My fiance and I stayed here last minute on our way from Michigan to Galena for a wedding. We did not arrive until 2am and we had our room waiting for us without any problems. The room was cute and perfect for us to crash after a 6-7 hour drive. The coffee and muffins the next morning were perfect for our morning. They went the next step and made sure there was a ironing board and iron in our room waiting for us. We had an excellent stay. The only downside was that the electrical outlets could not properly run the iron or hair dryer we brought. But that was minor. Will stay again if ever in the area. The price was right!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpvandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
9.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Stockton
13.9 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
16.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
13.8 mi away
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
15.5 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcotte's Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcotte's Family Motel

Property: Marcotte's Family Motel
Address: 2156 East Route 20, Elizabeth, IL 61028
Location: United States > Illinois > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run motel dedicated to our guests' having the best motel experience ever! Whether you're staying in the Galena/JoDaviess County area for a few days or just passing through, we want you to enjoy your stay and recommend us to your friends and family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marcottes Family Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing