We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and peaceful with close proximity to last station of Metra Rail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful with close proximity to last station of Metra Rail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Good hotel to stay especially if you have work close to elgin. The travel to Union station took nearly an hour with the metrail but was convenient and the hotel was kind enough to offer a pickup even though it was close to 23:30.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are looking forward to serve you again in our fully renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    64
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
53
25
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Groveland, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Stayed here for a concert. All they had left were supposedly smoking rooms, although the hotel didn't look that full. I even offered to pay the difference for a suite to no avail. The obviously smelled horrible being that it was a smoking room- why do they still have smoking rooms? The A/C was noisy and the sheets were thin with no comforter. To top all that off, I had to leave a credit card for incidentals which in turn they stole the number and tried to purchase $4000 worth of stuff in Colorado! I would never stay here again. The front staff was rude and are crooks!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiChicagoNW, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
The Holiday Inn was sold out for the weekend of May 17, 2010 due to the Melodic Rock Fest being held at the Elgin Roadhouse. Smoking rooms are usually the last rooms to fill and on a weekend like this one, that was all we had available. As for any credit card number being stolen, the hotel received no complaint, and no police report was filed with the Elgin police department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

We were traveling from Minneapolis to Chicago for a Saturday event. The drive time from Minneapolis to Elgin was about 6 hours, we arrived at about 11:30 pm, the room was fairly inexpensive, very clean, very comfortable for myself, wife, and adult son. There were 2 queen beds in the room. Everything about the room worked well, nothing too fancy just excellent standard fare for the evening. It was easy to get too off the tollway, there was plenty of parking (even though a wedding was going on). Check in was a breeze.

No breakfast came with the room. We got up, checked out and drove in to Chicago, about 45 minutes to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassOut76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are looking forward to serve you again in our fully renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
221 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

This hotel is in a very nice, and apparently safe loction right off I-90. Nice lobby, beatiful room, upgaded once again due to PC Platinum status.

Check in good, good internet speed, and a good on-site restaurant. "Bennigans" offers "chain style food" but I would suggest it slightly better than most chain restaurant offerings.

This hotel is very clean and a little "upscale", and for less than $100 / night for a Chicago suburb, offers excellent value. One small complaint may be the rather load heater / AC unit.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are looking forward to serve you again in our fully renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

Initially impressed with the room and amenities of the hotel, our disappointment came at 2 AM when we woke up freezing. We searched the room for a decent blanket but didn't find any. So instead of calling the front desk, my wife covered up with her winter coat and I got fully dressed and grabbed a few towels from the bathroom to cover up. We're from Minnesota, and in no way freeze-babies, but they literally had no sufficient blanket for warmth -- just two sheets encompassing a very thin transparent blanket. And don't count on the thermostat to engage the heater. It was 68 in the room, I set it for 72, and when we woke up it was 69.5. We told the manager about our issue, and she claimed that's what "they" recommend. The manager clearly acted as managerial as she could, but it appears there may be 10 management layers above her that purchased thousands of blankets more suited for Arizona. And not that we were looking for a discount, but come on, shouldn't that be standard in hotel management 101?

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzette38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, with a full renovation completed which included updated bedding and addditional spare blankets in each room, we are hoping your next visit to our hotel is a more pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on our way back from Michigan. I had stayed at a Holiday Inn and Ann Arbor and decided to just stop at this one. The staff was nice, the accommodations clean and I even received a complimentary glass of wine.
BUT.....as there was a wedding at the hotel, we were on the 5th floor and had to call the front desk 3 times between midnight and 2:00 am before they finally had the group quiet down. But then again it started at 4:00 AM. The front desk representative came up and spoke with them and it finally stopped. Needless to say we didn't get a good nights sleep. I was very disappointed and thought the least the hotel could have done was something to compensate us for our lack of sleep.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMFMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, your noise complaints of 3 years ago reminded me of last weeks experience with another noisy wedding group. We have added night security to monitor the hallways and try to prevent as much of the late celebration as possible. We hope you visit our Holiday Inn again to experience a brand new product and hopefully a quieter room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

I will keep this short and sweet.

I had an issue at the hotel, that I am still trying to get resolved and I had the chance to deal with in issue directly with the head/general manager of this hotel, and based off that experience alone I would never stay here again.

She is a tacky, unprofessional excuse for a manager. She seemed like she could care less about my opinions and thoughts, and couldn't wait to get her sunglasses on and walk out the door. The front desk staff, food, and rooms were quite nice, but I would never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodeblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. With new ownership came a full renovation and management and we certainly want your business back. We hope you'll give us a chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Address: 495 Airport Rd, Elgin, IL 60123-9356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Elgin Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest perfectly located between Hoffman Estates, West Dundee, Barrington, Rockford and Huntley. Whether visiting Bystronic, SKF, Siemens, Judson University, Renishaw, Verizon, or General Electric our location directly off of I-90 and only 19 miles west of O'Hare International Airport makes us the ideal location. During your stay enjoy the many attractions of downtown Elgin including the Grand Victoria Casino and Hemmens Cultural Center or attend an event at the Sears Centre. The Holiday Inn Elgin Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest caters to business and leisure travelers with deluxe amenities and services; including complimentary Wi-Fi, HDTVs, microwaves and mini fridges in all guest rooms. We offer several dining options featuring Bennigan's Irish Restaurant and Pub, breakfast in Crystals and room service. Our ballroom accommodates up to 300 guests for dinner, making us the perfect Elgin Wedding Venue. From intimate affairs to grand events, our 10,000 sq. ft. of banquet space can accommodate all of your needs. Our Catering Managers are here to assist with planning your Wedding Reception, Birthday Party, Reunion or Quinceanera. Our Sales staff is here to assist with any guest room block needs for offsite wedding receptions, reunions and sport groups. Your guests can enjoy the largest indoor pool in the area featuring an oversized hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elgin
Holiday Inn Chicago Northwest
Elgin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing