We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were in Elgin for my 55th high school reunion (quick, how old am I) and stayed at this Holiday Inn. They upgraded us to a suite (I have a IHG Rewards Club Gold card) and the room was large, clean, and very nice. The restaurant and bar are fine. Breakfast (in a different room) was fine, and there is another family-style restaurant within easy walking distance.

One minor complaint -- most hotels (this one included) are going to CFL for lighting and us old guys really need more light to be able to see.

One other more serious problem -- neither my smart-phone nor my laptop was able to stay connected to their wifi for any length of time.

Overall, this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It was a lot of fun for our staff to host your class reunion, it seems like a close knit group and we got a lot of compliments on your band during the dinner party, they sure put on a good show. I'm sorry to hear about your issues with our Wi-Fi system, even though we have a very strong signal 30Mbps, we had some issues when a large number of people were accessing it, we have adjusted the system to make sure each room is receiving it's fair share of signal instead of the free for all that we were experimenting with. I am truly sorry for the problem. Also , our new CFL lighting should be providing the same high lumens as regular bulbs but it seems to take it a short while to warm up, I will make sure we have regular bulbs available for future guests with this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 216 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

I am the Travel Coordinator for my company, and had a team staying at this location while traveling within the city. There was a glitch with my travelers rewards points, so I only needed to make one phone call to have all reward numbers entered correctly!

Angela K. kept communication and even called me directly instead of sending an email, which is rare in todays world.

Thank you Angela and staff! Sincerely appreciated!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Customer service is a top priority of our staff, I'm happy to hear we were able to meet your needs. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently had my niece's bridal shower at the Holiday Inn. Our experience was wonderful. The food was superb, the staff extremely attentive, and the hotel is beautiful. I can't say enough about this hotel! We will definitely come back for future events.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jodyjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are always striving to make sure each event is perfect and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the wedding shower. I will pass your compliments to our staff who pride themselves on providing the excellent service you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed for one night as we had plans the next day in the area. Very comfortable and clean room. We had 2 adults and 2 children under 3 in a double queen room and there was plenty of room for all of us. Nice large clean bathroom with plenty of towels. There was a small refridgerator in the room, it would have been nice to have a small microwave too. We used the pool with the kids and it was also very clean. The towels that the hotel provided in the pool area were small, so if you use the pool you might want to bring your own beach towel. I also echo what other's have mentioned about the lack of a complimentary breakfast. We ended up spending another $30.00 for a just ok breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Our large pool is very kids and family friendly, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our renovted hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Nice place to stay. Rooms well accessorized and roomy. WiFi worked as promised. Beds comfy with nice linens. Bathroom was clean and nicely appointed. Clean surroundings. Would appreciate a complimentary breakfast. Strange not to have one!! Did provide complimentary coffee at the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Elgin and are pleased that every aspect of your stay was enjoyable. Also IHG hotels with free breakfast choice are our Holiday inn express hotels, also as a Full service Holiday inn we do offer a bed and breakfast rate which includes breakfast and room rate which might be a choice that would interest you during your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was a very nice Hotel who will get more of my business. Great check in staff, has a very nice bar onsite as well. Very nice rooms. Bed wad extremely comfortable, big spacious rooms. Easy to get to and from for what I was staying in town for.
.

Room Tip: Book your stay here, very nice and enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you discovered our newly renovated hotel and enjoyed our Bennigan's restaurant on the premises, it is a pleasure to hear that you will make our Holiday Inn your place to stay when visiting Elgin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is our third time staying here when we visit family. The room is always very clean and the beds are comfortable. The only thing that bothered me this time is that when we went to our room one night at 8:00 PM we noticed that someone had a tray of food that was left by their door. The next morning when we left the same tray was still there, nothing had been touched on it and a huge oversized steak knife was laying on the tray. Anyone could have grabbed that knife. I know that other employees had to have walked by the tray during the night because we had an express checkout paper left under our door. I would think that someone would have picked up the tray and put it away. There were also some questionable people hanging outside the door in the afternoon and evening. The check in and check out desk people were very nice. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candlewick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It's certainly very nice to hear from repeat customers about their enjoyment of our hotel. Also I want to apologize for the room service tray that was not picked up promptly. We pride ourselves on taking care of the little service points from day to day and your comments brought forth our lack of attention in all of our departments who had an opportunity to remove the tray. We have a one hour pick up schedule and I have revisited with our managers and staff regarding the importance of adhereing to that time frame and want to assure you that your comments were heard and well received. Thank you again for being our guest and look forward to serve you on your next visit to Elgin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest

Address: 495 Airport Rd, Elgin, IL 60123-9356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range: $96 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Elgin Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest perfectly located between Hoffman Estates, West Dundee, Barrington, Rockford and Huntley. Whether visiting Bystronic, SKF, Siemens, Judson University, Renishaw, Verizon, or General Electric our location directly off of I-90 and only 19 miles west of O'Hare International Airport makes us the ideal location. During your stay enjoy the many attractions of downtown Elgin including the Grand Victoria Casino and Hemmens Cultural Center or attend an event at the Sears Centre. The Holiday Inn Elgin Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest caters to business and leisure travelers with deluxe amenities and services; including complimentary Wi-Fi, HDTVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, microwaves and mini fridges in all guest rooms. We offer several dining options featuring Bennigan's Irish Restaurant and Pub, breakfast in Crystals and room service. We accept service animals only. Our ballroom accommodates up to 300 guests for dinner, making us the perfect Elgin Wedding Venue. From intimate affairs to grand events, our 10,000 sq. ft. of banquet space can accommodate all of your needs. Our Catering Managers are here to assist with planning your Wedding Reception, Birthday Party, Reunion or Quinceanera. Our Sales staff is here to assist with any guest room block needs for offsite wedding receptions, reunions and sport groups. Your guests can enjoy the largest indoor pool in the area featuring an oversized hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elgin
Holiday Inn Chicago Northwest
Elgin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing