We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to hold a party or reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I just had a company party at the newly remodeled Holiday Inn in Elgin and could not be happier. Not only was the staff accommodating, but the planner, the management and the party staff were all excellent and top notch. The food was great and every need and want was fulfilled with no problem. The rooms are gorgeous and overall this is the best kept secret of the Northwest Suburbs! Will use them again!

Room Tip: The Suites are so wonderful, you might not want to go home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeldani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments reinforces our mission of making each event the best it could be and lets us know we're on the right track.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 214 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here last week for a meeting. Very nice hotel. Lobby was very nice and welcoming and staff was very friendly too. Room was great. Very high ceilings, which is always real nice. Plenty of room and good HDTV with good line up and bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was perfect and good water pressure.

Attended meeting at Hotel and meeting space was real nice and food was great.

I had a great stay, would definitely stay here again if ever in Elgin again and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in elgin.

Room Tip: I had a king room, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We will strive to maintain our quality and service in an effort to continue earning your generous comments. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I live in the actual city of Chicago not too far from the United Center but a friend's band was playing at the Grand Victoria Casino. Not wanting to schlep myself back to the city at 2am, I booked a room here. Got a fantastic deal on Hotwire and this was only a few miles from the casino.

This is a fantastic place to stay if you want to enjoy the Fox River, hit the casino, and maybe hit the Huntley Outlet Mall. Beautiful accommodations, friendly staff, and a reasonable price for now nice it is.

If your goal is to explore the actual city of Chicago, this really is not the hotel to book. Take it from a local...Get one closer to the city or at least right by one of the airports where you have easy access to the L. From this hotel, you're looking at a 45 minute drive to downtown with perfect traffic & weather conditions and there's no such thing unless it's 3am. And for the amount you'll spend on your Metra tickets from this far out on the line, you're better off spending more on a hotel closer to the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragdyann422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We certainly like hearing that you enjoyed your stay at our newly renovated hotel, but better yet your helpful comments and tips on what to do around Elgin could be very useful to Trip Advisor readers visiting our area. By the way the METRA ride from Elgin to Union Station in downtown Chicago is 1 Hour 10 Minute and it costs $14 for a round trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My daughter had her wedding reception at The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest three weeks ago and people in town are still telling me what a great time they had that night. The service provided and EVERYTHING was perfect. Kaitlyn Harm and Mark Cihlar and their staff made for a very memorable evening. The food was excellent, the service was incredible and the price was very fair. 235 guests went home very impressed. We are telling everyone who is looking for a wedding reception venue to check out The Holiday Inn in Elgin, Ill.!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Our staff is elated with your kind words regarding your daughters wedding, and we're all glad it's reflecting well on you. Word of mouth is the best type of promotion we can get, and we certainly appreciate you being a happy father of the bride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

If staying in the Chicago area I highly recommend staying here. Rooms were ample and beds very comfortable. The staff go out of their way to be helpful and the restaurant meal was good. You can stay here and take the Metro to Chicago avoiding the cost an inconvenience of driving. Newly renovated facility is beautiful and the prices are reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It's always nice to hear of comments that can be helpful to other visitors to our area. Your suggestion of using the Metra to go to downtown Chicago is a good one for those that want to avoid the hassle of driving and finding parking. It does take 1 hour and 5 minutes to get to union station but it sure is a convenient way to get there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had a great experience with a large group here for several days. Good location with lots to do nearby, excellent food on-site and friendly and super accommodating staff! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and generous comments regarding your stay. With 243 renovated rooms, Bennigan's restaurant and banquet facilities catering to over 300 persons our hotel is the perfect place in Elgin for large groups. We're looking forward to serve you on your future visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I like the hotel, it one of the better ones when to travel often. This hotel provided me a suite with a kitchen sink, microwave, and mini fridge with a separate freezer. Perfect to put some frozen take home Chicago Pizzas to bring back from the trip. Excellent staff and very friendly.

The only thing I wasn't crazy about was that it near a toll road. Not the fault of the hotel, that the is the cities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel and services. Also I feel the need to apologize to every guest that travels Illinois hiways with our TOLL roads, it gets to be very frustrating if you're an out of towner and are not carrying proper change since half the exits are not staffed. We are looking forward to serving you in the future, and a small tip when traveling around Chicago, always keep a roll of quarters and dimes in your car, it will ease the frustration that comes with our state toll roads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest

Address: 495 Airport Rd, Elgin, IL 60123-9356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range: $100 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Elgin Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest perfectly located between Hoffman Estates, West Dundee, Barrington, Rockford and Huntley. Whether visiting Bystronic, SKF, Siemens, Judson University, Renishaw, Verizon, or General Electric our location directly off of I-90 and only 19 miles west of O'Hare International Airport makes us the ideal location. During your stay enjoy the many attractions of downtown Elgin including the Grand Victoria Casino and Hemmens Cultural Center or attend an event at the Sears Centre. The Holiday Inn Elgin Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest caters to business and leisure travelers with deluxe amenities and services; including complimentary Wi-Fi, HDTVs, microwaves and mini fridges in all guest rooms. We offer several dining options featuring Bennigan's Irish Restaurant and Pub, breakfast in Crystals and room service. Our ballroom accommodates up to 300 guests for dinner, making us the perfect Elgin Wedding Venue. From intimate affairs to grand events, our 10,000 sq. ft. of banquet space can accommodate all of your needs. Our Catering Managers are here to assist with planning your Wedding Reception, Birthday Party, Reunion or Quinceanera. Our Sales staff is here to assist with any guest room block needs for offsite wedding receptions, reunions and sport groups. Your guests can enjoy the largest indoor pool in the area featuring an oversized hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elgin
Holiday Inn Chicago Northwest
Elgin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing