We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Newly renovated”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I just got back from a few days in Elgin, Illinois and we really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. The rooms have just been renovated and they are spacious and lovely. We had a King Suite which had a fridge and microwave, two flat screen T.V.'s, and a desk to work at which was great for using our laptop, along with a sitting area. It was quiet and very clean. It was still undergoing renovation so the lobby area and fitness room are still being worked on. I'm sure it will look great when it's done.
If you drive north on 31 a few miles, you'll find the Spring Hill Mall and an Olive Garden and Red Lobster. There is coffee in the lobby, which is nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, your enjoyment of our well designed suites is very appreciated by everyone that helped design it, and I'm proud to say that the entire hotel is fully renovated including Bennigan's restaurant, banquet rooms, our lobby, business center, fitness room and pool areas are fully functional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    66
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
53
25
13
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Arrived at 8pm to check in to my priceline 3 star winning bid. Check in was pleasant & painless. Hotel is being renovated so several floors were closed. This is probably why I got priceline room for under 100.

I asked if there was a mini fridge & front desk offered to put me on removed floor (6th) which had mini fridges in rooms.

Room was tastefully renovated. Neutral tones, marble bath counter, lighted pull out make up mirror. Nice desk area. modern simple bedding, gone are tacky bedspreads of holiday inn past. Pillows labelled soft & firm.

My first room had problem with stuck sink stopper. Front desk apologized & staff came up with new key to neighboring room.

Bennigans restaurant is in lobby, but desk mentioned it was being renovated too, so might want to check if it is open. I didn't eat there, so couldn't comment on food.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry that you didn't get to experience the completed Bennigan's renovation, I'm certain that the new decor along with a great menu and service to go with a sports bar/elegant bistro theme would have completed your excellent stay. We are looking forward to your next visit so we may showcase our lovely hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Big hotel, it was under construction when i went, but it was nice to have a bar connected to the hotel. They charge alot for breakfast, which wasnt all that fantastic. Very friendly employees.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Jb2186,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We appreciated the time and effort you have taken to inform us of your experience. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and will use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. Guests such as yourself enable us to maintain the high standard of service expected of us. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Best Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Much better places to stay locally... look elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we have completed 100 % renovation of our hotel which started in January 2012 and finished 6 months later. I hope we get the opportunity to win your business back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were especially pleased with the room housekeeping. The hotel shows some signs of wear, but we also saw that the exterior was undergoing a facelift while we were there - new paint etc. Friendly staff - centrally located in historic Elgin. We would come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bricabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. A year ago we had started our renovation by painting the outside of our hotel, I'm happy to say that our entire renovation including rooms public space and restaurants was completed and we are very much looking forward to showcasing it to our loyal customers.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I've stayed at this Holiday Inn 3 times in the last few years, last time being back in May. I visit the area a lot and this is not my favorite hotel but I have to say it has the biggest pool around with a fountain in the middle so it's well liked by kids. The hotel and rooms are clean but you can tell it's getting old without any recent updating. There are several newer hotels in the area for the same price that include free breakfast and some even have free happy hour drinks and food. I'm a big fan of free breakfast so I usually stay at the Comfort Suites and Country Inn in Elgin or even the Holiday Inn Express in Algonquin. They do have a Bennigan's restaurant/bar in the lobby which is nice when you want to have food and drinks without having to drive anywhere. Also within a few minutes drive are several restaurant options, a mall and even the Grand Victoria Casino. O'Hare is about 25-30 mins away if no traffic, if leaving during the morning rush you might want to allow up to an hour to the airport.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you need the extra room and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GdayNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. The changes we went thru this past year are very pleasing indeed, our toatl renovation includes refrigerators in all of our rooms and the suites have microwaves.
We know you have a lot of choices in our area, we're hoping you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

If you choose to stay here, keep your eye on the bill and the linens. It's a shabbily run establishment. We were billed 3 months later for a 'missed' night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petfriendlyplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am truly sorry for problem you encountered, we have fully renovated the hotel and updated our accounting system which hopefully will take care of the problem you had with billing. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
2.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Address: 495 Airport Rd, Elgin, IL 60123-9356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Elgin Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest perfectly located between Hoffman Estates, West Dundee, Barrington, Rockford and Huntley. Whether visiting Bystronic, SKF, Siemens, Judson University, Renishaw, Verizon, or General Electric our location directly off of I-90 and only 19 miles west of O'Hare International Airport makes us the ideal location. During your stay enjoy the many attractions of downtown Elgin including the Grand Victoria Casino and Hemmens Cultural Center or attend an event at the Sears Centre. The Holiday Inn Elgin Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest caters to business and leisure travelers with deluxe amenities and services; including complimentary Wi-Fi, HDTVs, microwaves and mini fridges in all guest rooms. We offer several dining options featuring Bennigan's Irish Restaurant and Pub, breakfast in Crystals and room service. Our ballroom accommodates up to 300 guests for dinner, making us the perfect Elgin Wedding Venue. From intimate affairs to grand events, our 10,000 sq. ft. of banquet space can accommodate all of your needs. Our Catering Managers are here to assist with planning your Wedding Reception, Birthday Party, Reunion or Quinceanera. Our Sales staff is here to assist with any guest room block needs for offsite wedding receptions, reunions and sport groups. Your guests can enjoy the largest indoor pool in the area featuring an oversized hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elgin
Holiday Inn Chicago Northwest
Elgin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing