We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Elgin
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good deal for the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I've stayed at the comfort suites in Elgin many times over the last 3 years, maybe 8 or more times, I've lost count. I've also stayed at several others in this area but this is the one I like the most. The rooms are nice size, either one or two beds and a sofa bed, desk, fridge, microwave, basic "suite" amenities. The hotel is fairly new which helps with appearance, etc. They have a good free breakfast every morning, basic stuff with something hot like eggs, sausage, usually changes day to day and the waffle maker. They also have free happy hour drinks and food during the week, weekends only free breakfast. The pool isn't huge but it's big enough for kids to play and they have some work out equipment in the room next to the pool. There are several restaurants and bars and even a very busy club (Tilted Kilt, I think that's the name) within walking distance in the same complex. The front desk is always helpful and there's free internet in all rooms, WiFi and wired as well as a computer and printer in the lobby which helps when it comes to printing boarding passes. I would recommend this to anyone who needs to stay in the area of Elgin and Algonquin IL. This is about 50 miles from downtown Chicago which is about an hour drive, O'Hare is about 30 mins away. .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GdayNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
16
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband stayed here for three nights on a business trip. We called the hotel after he had bites all over his arm and back, but after checking, they claimed to have no bugs in the sleeping area. It may have been something else, but they didn't even offer any kind of coupon or compensation for the possible scare and huge inconvenience it was to wash or quarantine everything of his for safe measure!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CS_Guest_Relations, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Elgin, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
There's a growing concern over bed bugs and the issue has been in the news a lot lately. We take any report of a possible bed bug infestation very seriously and conduct an immediate investigation upon receiving a guest comment. In this particular instance, we "tore apart" the guest room inspecting the mattress, box spring, headboard and carpet base looking for evidence of an infestation. None was found and we communicated this information to our guest.

The Comfort Suites - Elgin is proud of our housekeeping and maintenance program, earning "Exceptional" designation in quality reviews by Choice Hotels International. These programs include awareness training and inspection for bedbugs at every checkout. Our extermination contractor has been involved in professional evaluation of potential problems and as recently as August 2011 we tested rooms with a specially-trained dog (no bedbugs were found). The Comfort Suites - Elgin has every safeguard in place and uses the industry's best practices to ensure a bedbug-free property for our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

The Comfort Suites in Elgin is a new hotel (2-3 years old). This is the first time I have stayed at a Comfort Suites and I have to say is that I was impressed. Now it is clear that the hotel is not the Ritz, but is a very nice business hotel with very nice staff and big rooms. I was surprised as to how big of a room you get with a microwave, couch / sitting area and a fairly good size LCD TV with a good selection of free channels. Wireless is free and free breakfast. The breakfast is not the best, but if you are looking for a quick cup of coffee or some cereal, it works just fine. For the money this hotel is very hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarriorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here for business for 3 nights in late July '11. The hotel was convenient to the highway, to my business site and to nearby shopping & restaurants. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Provided a complimentary breakfast that included make your own waffles, a couple of premade items (eggs, sausage, biscuits etc) that changed each morning, cereals, juice, bagels, danishes; nothing to write home about but enough to get the morning kick started. There is a Starbucks a few yards away if the coffee isn't adequate for you. The beds were comfortable but the tiny square pillows this hotel (and others I've encountered of late) have me baffled. The TV's are outdated but the free wireless internet made up for it. Not the hotels fault but there is a bar/restaurant Rookies within feet of the hotel, two of the three nights I was awoken to drunken screaming etc.. by the bar patrons around closing time. There was a managers reception (I believe M-W) but missed it each night due to a late working night. Great price and location for the business trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drgnfly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Elgin for a car club event. Our room was very spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The indoor pool is nice as well as the hot tub. There was a good variety for the complimentary breakfast. The location is convenient to several eating establishments, within walking distance. We would definitely stay there again if we find ourselves in the Elgin area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reindeerlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

First of all, this is a nice new hotel with spacious rooms and lots of restaurants nearby. However, we were travelling in a large group with children and other than a pool there is nothing for them to do. There is no conference room or any area set up to accomodate groups.The room doors slam and you can hear everyone walking above you. The receptionist was horrible and threatened our group and the children several times. She even refused to sell them candy that was located beside front desk and at 6pm at nite she threatened to oust us all, if children were not put in their rooms or made to find something to do off of property. There are several bars nearby and if you plan on driving anywhere there will be no where for you to park upon your return and hotel is unwilling to do anything about it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

This was my first time to Elgin traveling on business. I must say the Comfort Suites hotel was an excellent stay. The rooms were very large and furnishings were nice and modern. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've had at a hotel. I was pleasantly surprised at the evening reception. Top-notch customer service. Will definetly stay here on my next business trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadeoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Elgin

Property: Comfort Suites Elgin
Address: 2480 Bushwood Dr, Elgin, IL 60124-7819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Elgin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Suites is committed to your success. You can spread out in our oversized rooms with separate sleeping and living areas. Most rooms include a full size pull-out sofa bed and all rooms provide a refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee maker and free high speed internet access. Throughout our hotel you'll experience Breathing Room - our 100& Smoke-Free policy.In the morning, you'll enjoy our complimentary Your Morning Breakfast full of hot and delicious options making breakfast at Comfort Suites the perfect way to start your day. Our breakfast includes eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more...including your choice of hot waffle flavors. If you're leaving early, a Grab & Go bag is available two hours prior to breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Elgin Hotel Elgin
Elgin Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing