We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...great ambiance, poor food”
Review of Jimmy's Charhouse

Jimmy's Charhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Jimmy's Charhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 187 Restaurants in Elgin
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“...great ambiance, poor food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Disappointing, and especially for the price. Pretty place though and the service was great. French onion soup should be renamed 'onion water'; burger looks much better than it tastes, and soggy fries. So glad we didnt buy a steak, if they cant make a tasty burger, its not that hard. Good bread and butter. Appearances can be deceiving, and unfortunately our expectations were high.


  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    44
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fire the cook - NOW”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Friday night I went to dinner with a good friend, his wife and son. Jimmy's was pretty full but we had no problem getting served promptly. I will say the service was just fine but the food was junk. House salad - no problem. No apps, straight to the main courses. By the way cut the bread better. Even though these people are my friends, manhandling the bread to rip off a piece really does not add much to the experience. Just cut it more. Three steaks and one salmon. I right away thought we could have a problem when the dishes came out in under 10 minutes. First look at the three steaks and it was clear, grey not a nice brown and seared black. Raw, not rare - raw. Absolutely no seasoning. This was one of the worst steaks I have had. My friend said his last two dinners at Jimmy's were no good but we went there anyway out of convenience as I was staying at the hotel right across the parking lot. Jimmy's is a big zero.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cochango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Illinois
Level Contributor
275 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Grecian chicken - Fabulous!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for something a bit out of the norm , don't hesitate to try baked Grecian chicken which is moist and flavorful, comes with some terrific potatoes and service that will bring you back a second time to try the extensive menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cabdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
309 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Decent lunch”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Ate here for lunch, it's right off I-90 and Randall Rd. OK menu selection, my food was pretty good though nothing spectacular. Service was good too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tedkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Service”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We eat here on a monthly basis and are always satisfied! The staff is always very friendly. Special attention to my grandchildren is important!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jimmy's Charhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing