We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was working on a project nearby and stayed 2/3 nights a week from June through August. The entire staff was excellent from the start to finish.

The hotel was doing some nice upgrades throughout my stay from upgrading linens to real silverware , plates and glasses (yes glass) for the breakfast buffet

I used the meeting room twice for some staff meetings and this was excellent as well

I also recommend Jimmy's and around the corner is a really nice Italian cafe it's not open on weekends, but excellent food

Thanks to the entire staff - you made my long stays from home much more comfortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    80
    21
    8
    8
See reviews for
116
31
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We reserved a non-smoking room for two nights, which we reduced to one night at the last minute, and thank goodness we did. Non-smoking is extremely important to us, as I have a lung disease and get very sick when exposed to smoke or chemical smells. Upon check-in, we were told by the clerk not to be alarmed at the smoke smell on our floor, because our room was non-smoking. Alarm bells went off, and I told her that wasn't going to work. We asked if we could have a room on a specifically non-smoking floor, and were told no. No attempt to work with us, just "no." Immediately upon stepping off the elevator on our floor, the smoke smell was so thick, it was disgusting. While our room itself wasn't smoky, by the time we unloaded our luggage and went in and out a few times, the entire room smelled from the door being open. We spent an awful night counting the moments until we could check out, and left with all of our belongings smelling terrible. The hotel is also outdated and could really use a facelift. I'm sorry, but I will never come NEAR this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgincountry, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
I am truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Your comments are appreciated and taken seriously. Although we only have a few smoking rooms in our hotel, they were all occupied during the time of your stay and the smell did linger in the halls. We are currently considering eliminating the smoking rooms from our hotel because of situations such as this. I am also sorry that we were unable to offer another alternative in accommodations due to our occupancy level. Please be assured that your concern has been heard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff allowed us an early check-in, which was helpful because we were going to a wedding nearby. Comfortable and clean place with decent, filling breakfast. Easy highway access. A good place for a night's stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clsbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

The Country Inn was clean, quiet and easily accessible from the highway. It was the perfect place for us to stay for one night while on a cross-country road trip. The front desk process was quick and they told us that we would receive a 10% discount at Jimmy's Char House by showing our room key. The restaurant exceeded our expectations, but keep in mind that we were not looking for ultra-fine dining. If in this area, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MplsJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We used accumulated points to get a free evening at the Elgin Country Inn. From the staff to the room to the breakfast everything was very good. In addition, my wife and I split a better than average steak dinner at the nearby Jimmy's Char House.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very comfortable bed and friendly staff. Rooms were kind of worn and the internet however free was slow. Very loud in hallways and the people walking all night above you. Literally nothing to do in this area. Good breakfast that was clean and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

It's hard to find a place for a family of 7 that isn't ridiculously priced. Well we found one!! Big, CLEAN rooms and comfy beds. Didn't hear a lot of noise in the halls like at a lot of other hotels. Not much in the general area but that made for a quiet night. Great FREE breakfast, waffles, eggs, cereal, milk, juice and fruits.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
Address: 2270 Point Boulevard, Elgin, IL 60123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Elgin
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin Hotel Elgin
Country Inn Elgin
Elgin Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing