We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
fort myers, fl
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife & I stayed her for 4 nights around Thanksgiving. King bed, non smoking, small fridge & microwave. Very quiet. Good location, right off I-90. Very nice free breakfast (waffles, biscuits/gravy, bacon, sausage). We actually had a mixup with the breakfast times, and were too late for the breakfast one morning. We went to a nearby Dunkin Donuts. Upon return, the manager Joanna apologized again for being given the wrong times, and asked of we kept out breakfast receipt. She took the receipt & gave us the amt back in cash. A great gesture!

Room Tip: Ask for king, non smoking ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geno59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Mgr_Elgin, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Joanna indeed felt bad for giving you the wrong times. So much so she told me about it. LoL. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is passionate about providing a great home away from home experience for all of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest Regard,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    39
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
27
22
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We needed a last minute hotel that would accept pets. After reading some of the reviews I was hesitant, but desperate. The staff was very accommodating, and the room was very clean. Another review mentioned a stale smell, but we found the hotel very clean. Sure the breakfast was minimal, but it's a hotel, not a restaurant. We will definitely stay here again on our way through Illinois!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Mgr_Elgin, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the kind words and are thankful you took the opportunity to see for yourself that our hotel staff works diligently to fulfill our guests satisfaction. Yes, the breakfast is minimal, though filling enough. And who can go wrong with our waffles.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Safe travels,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vine Grove, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The General Manager James Diller, and other staff are rude and ill equipped to handle handicapped family needs. All handicapped rooms only have one bed(I guess our kids just have to sleep on the floor). We didn't want that so we settled for a room with two beds, and the GM said they were graciously going to let me take a free shower in a room with a handicapped accessible bathroom. Like he was doing me a favor. We brought our son on an emergency trip to see his grandmother who is very ill, and had limited funds, their sign says they would authorize the night stay plus 15% well they did not they authorized two full nights, double what we were told would be charged. we had to have money wired to us to pay for gas home! What a nightmare! This GM insisted it wasn't their fault and I should not have used a debit card so it was my fault! Shame on this Hotel, "Choice hotels" should remove their endorsement of this horrible facility and management.

Room Tip: Dont Stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniev1143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Mgr_Elgin, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. II would like to address both of your concerns individually. First with the sleeping arrangements. Due to the size of our rooms and the requirements needed to allow the room to be accessible, we can not place more than one bed in the room. It would be a safety hazard to have more than one. And placing you in a room with 2 beds and providing you a room at no additional charge for the use of the shower that we would then need to clean was the best option we were able to offer due to your specific needs. It was provided to you as a kind gesture, I'm sorry you didn't receive it that way. The sign at the front desk, in which you have a photo, does state the process of authorization/charges to your card when you use it. We authorized your card for the amount of nights you were reserved to stay in the hotel. Choices system does this automatically. The hotel doesn't manually do that on it's own.

Again, we truly are sorry for the dissatisfaction you experienced at our hotel. Our staff works passionately everyday to provide great service and a well kept property for our traveling guests.

Thank you again for the review,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Be aware that this hotel has both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Priceline, Hotwire etc may put you in a smoking room. We were lucky that we found this and called in beforehand and found that we had been put in a smoking room and the staff changed it to non-smoking room. There is faint residue smoke smell in the hotel.

Otherwise relatively nice and clean. Good for a transit stop en route to another destination where you want to have a decent bed to sleep in overnight.

Room Tip: If sensitive to smoking - make sure to ask for non-smoking room or call hotel to confirm non-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mera-Safaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Mgr_Elgin, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We indeed still offer smoking rooms. I truly apologize for the faint smell. Our staff tries very hard to clear and clean the air daily to prevent any guests from experiencing that. And we would like to thank you for the positive feedback regarding the hotel as a whole. The associates work very hard everyday to present a welcoming and hospitable environment for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you in the future during your next trip through Elgin.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I booked a room for a weeks stay in Elgin, and while we did get in late that night as we drove from NC, we needed another room, which she gave us. Well first they were recoating the front parking lot, which is okay, if they had enough parking in the back. My Mother who is 81 does not walk that well, and they had no close parking to the back door. Then we got to the back door and the room keys would not open the door. So we went back in and I started to tell the lady our concerns, and the first thing out of her mouth was your not getting a refund. So we paid for two rooms, that we never used, so I am sure that they sold those rooms later that night and got 2x the money. I can understand not refunding the 1st room, but why not the second room, and why such rudeness from the front desk clerk. I will never stay here again. And will make it my duty to tell everyone going to Elgin to avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciamru2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Mgr_Elgin, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's unfortunate I'm just now hearing of this online. I'm very sorry for the uncomfortable situation you found yourselves in. We strive on service and have been making many changes in order to do so. And I agree with you, a refund on the second room would have sufficed.

Please feel free to contact me if you would like to speak further regarding this. We would really appreciate the opportunity to make it right on your next visit to Elgin,

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

After checking in we were ready to call it a night, but when my wife pulled back the covers we found bed bugs in the sheets! We couldn't get out of there fast enough! We were offered another room in the hotel but just couldn't bring ourselves to stay in that hotel!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Mgr_Elgin, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the incident you incurred while staying with us. I want to share with you that the very next morning we had our pest control company come out and completed an extensive inspection and found that there were no bed bugs in that room or any other room in the hotel. Our staff works very hard to make sure there are no bug issues of any sort in our hotel.

We again apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. And we hope you allow us the opportunity to be your home away from home on your next trip to Elgin.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO IL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed with my family for 2 weeks back in May/2013 (two rooms). The rooms were quiet and convenient but updated. The furniture was old but functioning well. The room service was excellent and even better than a lot of more expensive hotels. The breakfast was included and good. The Internet was free and fast (WiFi). There was construction work in some parts of the hotel but did not cause a lot of noise. I will definitely stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: You need a car because of the location in the suburbs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAVARO-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Mgr_Elgin, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes incredible pride in the service and product they provide to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 500 Tollgate Rd, Elgin, IL 60123-9315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Elgin
Elgin Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing