We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Elgin”
Review of Elgin Public House

Elgin Public House
Ranked #4 of 188 Restaurants in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elgin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Elgin”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have lived in Elgin for over 25 years and only recently discovered the great food and drinks at Elgin Public House. Thanks to a recent Groupon, I was able to enjoy their bar atmosphere as well as a casual meal with a friend. Many food options are available and both meals I enjoyed for their freshness and flavor. There are several choices of atmosphere including sit-down restaurant style, a more casual bar area with sports playing and a small private upstairs perfect for date night. I am looking forward to returning soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vag1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    80
    21
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

sat at bar. female btender was just rude to all customers including the waitstaff getting drinks for there tables. Had the bbq sandwich it was ok. Not a good experience. there are better options in area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank realinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
151 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Son's wedding reception”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Booked a small wedding reception for our oldest son and his fiancé who live in Elgin and was not disappointed! Made all the arrangements via phone and email as we live out of state and Lou and her team could not have been more accommodating. We were in a private dining room with our entrance, bar and restrooms and it's a beautiful old building with exposed brick and dark wood - very charming. We met with Mike, one of Lou's manager's the day before the event and he took us through the room as well as the menu and our bar options. He ensured that we were satisfied with everything and invited us to decorate the room however we wanted. When we arrived the next day after the ceremony Morgan and Paul were the bartender and server assigned to us and they could not have been better or done more to ensure that we, our son and daughter-in-law as well as their guests were comfortable and had their drink and food needs met! Our food was exactly as ordered and arrived quickly after each guest made their choice and was hot and delicious. This was a wonderful reception and was possible only due to the location, the food and the phenomenal service of Lou and her team - would highly recommend for any type of event!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Staecy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Time After Time”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

EPH is Blessing to Elgin IL ... Time after time they plate better than pub grub to us all
There beer selection is vast and varied and the staff always aims to serve
All in all time (and money) well spent

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joeintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome atmosphere, fun place”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Amazing beer selection with an awesome menu. They do a lot of activities, like quiz night and things like that. Really a fun fun place, highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elgin Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing